Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was so yummy! I did take advice from others and made some changes. Used fresh steamed broccoli cut into small pieces, regular rice steamed in vegetable broth, half of the butter, half of the onion and shredded cheddar instead of processed cheese. For the soup I used cream of mushroom with garlic. That really made it tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
358 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I make this recipe every year for Thanksgiving & Christmas. It has become a new family favorite. I've made the following changes to the original recipe: 16 Ounces of Velveeta Cheese instead of processed cheese in a jar. 2 Cups Chicken Broth instead of water when preparing the rice. I've used condensed Cream of Chicken soup instead of Cream of Mushroom with the same results. Fresh Broccoli Florets, hand-chopped and steamed make a big difference. I also think this taste better when prepared at least one day in advance and reheated when ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
MMMM This was so tasty!! I used real cheddar cheese instead of the processed kind and it came out great. I also used fresh broccoli, i steamed it in my veggie steamer for about 4 minutes until it started turning bright green. And instead of instant rice I steamed some white long grain rice. Next time I will add some more onions. My husband despises casseroles, and he loved it too!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This was delicious, although I did make a few changes based on what others said....I used 1 box of Uncle Ben's long grain and wild rice. I boiled it in 1 can of chicken broth. Instead of the processed cheese, I used 8oz. of Velveeta light and 8oz. of shredded Monterey and Colby cheese. Instead of mushroom soup, I used 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of celery. My husband (as well as myself) loved it! Thanks for the suggestions everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I made this for a Christmas party tonight. Everyone wanted the recipe! This had a fantastic taste. I alternated the recipe a little. For the rice, I used Uncle Ben's wild rice, I put fry seasoning in the onions, I used unsalted butter, 1/2 cup Velvetta shredded cheese and melted it, 1 1/2 cup Monterey Jack and Colby cheese shredded, and crumbled Ritz crackers on top. I baked 300 for 25 minutes. It was out of this world!!!!! Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
OMG! This recipe is just awesome! I love it enough to eat it by itself as a meal, just add shredded chicken to it. Made it for a thanksgiving dish the 1st time and have made it several more times since then. I usually have to cut all ingredients in half since it makes so much. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSHARP01

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful accompaniment to a ham or lots of other dinners. I used about 3/4 of a 15oz. jar of Cheez Whiz, one can of 98% fat free Cream of Celery and one of Mushroom soup and used two 10oz. bags of frozen California Blend (carrots, broc. and cauliflower)cooked acc. to pkg. directions. It was wonderful! I added NO exta salt as it has enough with the soups and cheez.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I used cheddar cheese instead of processed, and long grain rice rather than instant. The gang raved about this dish. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
this is really good but i would suggest instead of the prosses cheese sauce to use regular cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was a very good broccoli casserole, I made it for Thanksgiving and it really tasted great. I used shredded cheese instead of jarred, instant brown rice instead of white, and I used 2 - 16 ounce bags of frozen chopped broccoli I cooked in a big bowl in the microwave. I also added seasoned breadcrumbs on top with a few thin butter pats. Other reviews said it needed no extra salt because of the salt from the cheese and the cans of mushroom gravy, although there is lots of sodium in those cans, I did wish I added more salt, but I added more broccoli than the recipe said and the cheese wasn't processed so that might be why. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jinelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Derby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States