Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
It was really good with changes (hence the 4 star rating) - 1 cup regular long grain rice, added 2 chicken bouillon cubes; 2 or 3 fresh broccoli heads cut and steamed 5 or so minutes; 2 cups shredded sharp cheddar (saved some out for the top, last 5 minutes of baking); way less better, probably 1-2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nancyj
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I made it!! I never eat broccoli, but I tried a small bite of this and I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Love this on a cold day. Add a pinch of salt, pepper and nutmeg. Also added Velveta cheese. The flour mixture had lumps so i had to whisk it with the mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
It was pretty good. I'm not a huge fan of broccoli so I only put 1 bag of it in this dish (it was actually 12 oz). It makes quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Very easy and delicious recipe! I put in shredded chicken and a little garlic when I made it in order to add protein and make it a whole meal rather than a side dish! Absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made a half recipe (thank goodness) and used brown rice, but otherwise I followed the recipe as written, including the cheez whiz (because I remember that's what my Aunt used) and the frozen broccoli. It was bland. Not bland like a little salt will fix it (it didn't) just bland like there isn't anything going on. I think part of the problem was the frozen broccoli. Anything I ever make with frozen broccoli just doesn't taste right. I never use frozen broccoli unless a recipe specifically calls for it. I think I need to just stop. I'm up in the air on whether I will ever make this again, but I would 1) make a fresh cream sauce instead of using cream of mushroom soup 2) use more onion and 3) use fresh broccoli. I'm on the fence on the cheez whiz. That is what gives this recipe it's "kitsch". It's what takes you back to your childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
My Family loved this !! I did not have the jar cheese so I just used Velveeta and added chicken,I also used brown rice instead of the white. I also served it with a tossed salad.That's my twist and it was a one dish dinner !! Robin/Mt Pleasant SC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was the hit of our Christmas dinner! I love reading other reviews and tips for ideas when I research recipes. I used regular rice instead of instant, cream of celery soup, and florets instead of chopped broccoli. A sleeve of crushed buttery round crackers made a nice topping before I baked it. This is destined to become a family tradition. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Outstanding and easy. I used 1/2 cup butter instead of 1/4 and 16 oz shredded cheddar cheese instead of jar of cheese. Cooked it about 15 minutes longer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have made this recipe for years and love it! One change I made is to add chopped green chili's to give it a little kick. It really adds a lot to the recipe! So yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States