Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made a half recipe (thank goodness) and used brown rice, but otherwise I followed the recipe as written, including the cheez whiz (because I remember that's what my Aunt used) and the frozen broccoli. It was bland. Not bland like a little salt will fix it (it didn't) just bland like there isn't anything going on. I think part of the problem was the frozen broccoli. Anything I ever make with frozen broccoli just doesn't taste right. I never use frozen broccoli unless a recipe specifically calls for it. I think I need to just stop. I'm up in the air on whether I will ever make this again, but I would 1) make a fresh cream sauce instead of using cream of mushroom soup 2) use more onion and 3) use fresh broccoli. I'm on the fence on the cheez whiz. That is what gives this recipe it's "kitsch". It's what takes you back to your childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
My Family loved this !! I did not have the jar cheese so I just used Velveeta and added chicken,I also used brown rice instead of the white. I also served it with a tossed salad.That's my twist and it was a one dish dinner !! Robin/Mt Pleasant SC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was the hit of our Christmas dinner! I love reading other reviews and tips for ideas when I research recipes. I used regular rice instead of instant, cream of celery soup, and florets instead of chopped broccoli. A sleeve of crushed buttery round crackers made a nice topping before I baked it. This is destined to become a family tradition. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Outstanding and easy. I used 1/2 cup butter instead of 1/4 and 16 oz shredded cheddar cheese instead of jar of cheese. Cooked it about 15 minutes longer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have made this recipe for years and love it! One change I made is to add chopped green chili's to give it a little kick. It really adds a lot to the recipe! So yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
My non vegetarian hubby loves this recipe, it's one of our favourite. I added fresh mushrooms and one cup cottage cheese, one cup ricotta cheese. I change the cheese each time and it's always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I just got done eating this with the family. I made this, at my daughters request, as part of her birthday dinner, and everyone liked it. I mixed in some shredded cheddar and monterey jack cheese and then sprinkled more on top along with some toasted japanese panko style bread crumbs before baking for a crispy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was ok. I followed the recommendations of others and used the shredded cheese and also used brown rice, but not as good tasting as it looked. It was lacking something. I'm thinking the cheese sauce would have added some additional liquid to the casserole and also some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I substituted 8 ounces of velveeta and this was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Bradford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was really good, definitely not bland. I only give it 4 stars because I used real cheese instead, cheddar and colby jack I think. Not a fan of processed cheese. However, the cream of mushroom was great in it, I know next time I make it it will be even better because I really just scraped this together because I had some fresh broccoli I desperately needed to use, and I used some leftover rice, I didn't have enough to use the 2 cups. I could have filled it in more with some cooked potatoes that were in the fridge and some celery, but didn't think of it till after! I also randomly threw in some mustard since I saw it in another recipe, and I added some garlic and parsley. This recipe has a lot of flavor, and can be simple like this for an amazing side (though my vegetarian father and I had it as a meal I just kinda threw together), and I see potential to use it as a starter to add more stuff to. One day I will try adding potatoes and/or celery and let you know if it's edible ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States