Broccoli Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is a family favorite for as long as I can remember. We make this for every thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter. We use a 9x13 inch pan, 3 packages of chopped broccoli, a little over half the big block of Velveeta cheese. I then melt 1/2 cup butter and mix with 2 sleeves of crushed Ritz crackers until moist. I drizzle any leftover butter over the cheese/broccoli mixture before putting the crackers on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I cooked the broccoli first. Used velveeta cheese, cut into cubes, which I then melted in a large sauce pan on the stove with 1/2 the butter. Once melted I stirred in the cooked broccoli. I melted the other 1/2 of butter in a frying pan and then added the crushed ritz crackers and mixed. I put 1/2 the cracker mixture to the bottom of a cassarole dish, Poured the broccoli cheese mixture on top of that, followed by the rest of the cracker mixture on top and baked as instructed below. I gave this recipe 4 stars since I had to make some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Just like old times; thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdeebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I must be missing something because I thought this was not to my liking. I made it just as the recipe said to, and I normally cook quite well, but my family couldn't even get this down without a big glass of milk. Broccoli, processed cheese, and WAY to buttery cracker crumbs. The buttery taste was overwhelming and I usually love lots of butter, but this was just way too much even for me. And a very dry meal as well. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I remember this recipe from church suppers when I was a kid! However, these days I use 2% milk Velveeta and reduced fat Ritz crackers. I also start out with just a little bit of butter, and keep adding only until the cracker crumbs are coated. You can't tell the difference, and it helps reduce the calorie and fat grams intake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Yep, this is a keeper! I used fresh broccoli, some real cheddar and only 2T butter so I couldn't give it 5 stars. But it was really good! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was great! I used broccoli and cheese soup instead of cheese food. I also skipped the butter and just sprinkled the crackers over the broccoli and soup mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was very yummy! I did make some changes but I think the final product is pretty much the same. Instead of processed cheese food, I used a can of cheddar cheese soup. Used fresh broccoli. Crumbled the crackers directly on top of the casserole and dotted around with butter. Used maybe 2 T. versus the 8 the recipe calls for! Very delicious, DB loved it and came home for lunch the next day to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Wow, this was so good. My kids went crazy for it and told me to make it again tomorrow. I did not have quite enough Velveeta so I grated up about 1/2 cup of Gouda and added that too. Next time I will use more crackers or a smaller dish to have more crust. I also cooked the broccoli a bit in the microwave until it was just thawed and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I took the suggestion of other reviewers and cooked the broccoli first. I then mixed in the cheese, topped with the bread crumb mixture and baked per the instructions. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States