Broccoli Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I got this recipe from my dear mother. It is the same except it uses 1/2 cup grated sharp ched. cheese in place of the processed and instead of bread crumbs it calls for 1/3 cup crushed Ritz crackers dotted with 2 T butter. I then sprinkle additional cheese on top of that. I always double or triple this topping. Boil broccoli first until done and drain. Then procede in putting together. I usually make it with a blend of broc, cauliflower and carrots. The topping is great and a nice addition,that is why I gave this 5 *. Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
I love this recipe! So does my husband, kids and everyone I have made it for. I substituted sharp cheddar for the process cheese and butter crackers for the topping, and it is fantastic. The bottom of the dish is scraped clean every time; whereas before I always had leftover broccoli when I used to make it plain with just cheese over the top. I didn't boil the broccoli first, and it was just perfect for me. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
We made this for Thanksgiving and there was nothing left over! We tried it when it wasn't hot anymore (we had to travel) but it still tasted very good. We used mild cheddar (instead of the processed stuff) and sprinkled another layer on top. Then we sprinkled crushed Ritz crackers on top of the cheese because if you put them underneath the cheese, they will become soggy. It was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Very good with fresh broccoli, only needed to bake 45 min. A big hit at the Easter dinner with ham and a potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Tried this for Thanksgiving this year. I prepped it the night before and put it in the fridge until it was time to bake. It was nothing fancy, but it was good, solid, comfort food. It turned out great! Everyone liked it. I thought it looked a little too saucy when I mixed everything, so I added a little more cooked broccoli. I also used Ritz on top (put those on before I baked, not the night before.) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I don't like Broccoli very much but now I have found a recipe that even I will eat. My husband and I both thought this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This definitely was a nice change from the always wonderful green bean casserole. I used cheddar in lieu of the jarred stuff, sour cream and mayo, a bit of lemon juice, my usual garlic and onion powders and crushed crackers for the top. I made a lot and I'm sorry to say that there was very little leftover for me to have as my lunch! Really good Michelle and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I used fresh broccoli and added some dried minced onion and onion powder. Topped with crushed Ritz crackers. A little salty but everyone ate it at Easter dinner. Think I will stick with my other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I've looked everywhere for this recipe. Most of them have rice in them and I'm not a fan of the rice in a broccoli casserole. My mother used to make this every Christmas and Thanksgiving but is no longer able to cook. The only difference was she added croutons instead of the bread crumbs and sharp, shredded cheddar cheese. Then she would top it with crushed ritz crackers, shredded sharp cheddar cheese, and dot with butter. If you make this reicpe be sure you make a lot because it disappears quickly. Even the non-broccoli lovers eat it up. We've also made it with yellow squash and it is also very good. I'm so glad I will be able to bring this tradition back to the table this year. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I have cooked this simple recipe numerous times and everyone who has tasted it really loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States