Broccoli Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made a few adjustments here and there to make it like old times. I added a can of broccoli cheese soup. The friends and family really enjoyed it, even my one year old daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is wonderful and makes a great side dish. Kids loved it! I did use 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese in placed of the processed as I'm not a fan of processed cheese. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This recipe is just like our family recipe as well. When my sister requested broccoli casserole for Thanksgiving and we didn't have the recipe with us, I tried this one being that it looked similar. It turned out great - I left out the celery because several people don't like it, but it was still very good. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because even though it's really good, it doesn't necessarily "wow" me. Still, I would recommend it to a friend and certainly wouldn't be ashamed to serve it for company or at pot luck dinners. It's also incredibly easy and quick to make. And it makes a decent size casserole. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
My Mom has made this for at least 30 years, we call it "Green Rice" in my family. This is always a crowd pleaser, and great with ham during the holidays. I've also taken it to work for holiday potlucks - just prepare through step 4, add to your slow cooker, take it to work and let it heat up in the slow cooker all morning, and you end up with a dish that everyone loves. It won't get the crusty top that it gets when you bake it, but it is still very very good. I've always received a positive response when I bring this to a potluck. Also, it is very easy to double this recipe for a crowd. To me, this is a dish best saved for holidays and potlucks. My boss took some of the leftovers home after a work potluck, and his 4 kids loved it! As far as the cheese, it seems like there are people who shy away from processed cheese. I like real cheese too, but sometimes the fake stuff is better in a dish, and in this dish, Cheez Whiz is what should be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I followed the recipe with a couple of exceptions: 8 oz. Velveeta for the cheez whiz, I used fresh broccoli since that's what I had on hand, and I added 1/4 cup half and half before baking because it seemed a little dry. Really good. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very Good- I did make changes. I used chicken base in my water when I cooked my rice. Put everything else plus thyme in my microwave steam bowl. Cooked for 6 min. in microwave. mixed everything, put in cassarole dish, baked 35 min. Very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Turned out great. Low fat cream of broccoli soup was better for my taste and I used brown rice. I will sure make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alachua, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Excellent recipe. I couldn't find the jalapeño cheese, so I substituted 8 oz. Velveeta and added some cayenne pepper. I also added some leftover cubed ham. I froze about 2 servings of the casserole uncooked with the directions written out on the top for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This was a good recipe, I would make it again however it took alot of my time preparing it. Probably because it was my first time, I think I could make it quicker my second time. I added chicken pieces to it to make it more of a meal. I used real butter, part of a block of Velveeta, shredded cheddar cheese, and added some celery salt(since I did not have celery) and lots of black pepper. The consistency was perfect, not too dry or mushy like alot of casseroles come out. I mixed everything up in a pot on the stove before I poured it in the pan that I baked in. I'd recommend doing that so you can taste it and add whatever seasoning you want before baking(it is a little bland if you don't do this).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I've kept your recipe for a very long time. Everyone I've ever fixed for likes it very much. Thank You for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States