Broccoli Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is wonderful and makes a great side dish. Kids loved it! I did use 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese in placed of the processed as I'm not a fan of processed cheese. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This recipe is just like our family recipe as well. When my sister requested broccoli casserole for Thanksgiving and we didn't have the recipe with us, I tried this one being that it looked similar. It turned out great - I left out the celery because several people don't like it, but it was still very good. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because even though it's really good, it doesn't necessarily "wow" me. Still, I would recommend it to a friend and certainly wouldn't be ashamed to serve it for company or at pot luck dinners. It's also incredibly easy and quick to make. And it makes a decent size casserole. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
My Mom has made this for at least 30 years, we call it "Green Rice" in my family. This is always a crowd pleaser, and great with ham during the holidays. I've also taken it to work for holiday potlucks - just prepare through step 4, add to your slow cooker, take it to work and let it heat up in the slow cooker all morning, and you end up with a dish that everyone loves. It won't get the crusty top that it gets when you bake it, but it is still very very good. I've always received a positive response when I bring this to a potluck. Also, it is very easy to double this recipe for a crowd. To me, this is a dish best saved for holidays and potlucks. My boss took some of the leftovers home after a work potluck, and his 4 kids loved it! As far as the cheese, it seems like there are people who shy away from processed cheese. I like real cheese too, but sometimes the fake stuff is better in a dish, and in this dish, Cheez Whiz is what should be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I followed the recipe with a couple of exceptions: 8 oz. Velveeta for the cheez whiz, I used fresh broccoli since that's what I had on hand, and I added 1/4 cup half and half before baking because it seemed a little dry. Really good. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very Good- I did make changes. I used chicken base in my water when I cooked my rice. Put everything else plus thyme in my microwave steam bowl. Cooked for 6 min. in microwave. mixed everything, put in cassarole dish, baked 35 min. Very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Turned out great. Low fat cream of broccoli soup was better for my taste and I used brown rice. I will sure make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alachua, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Excellent recipe. I couldn't find the jalapeño cheese, so I substituted 8 oz. Velveeta and added some cayenne pepper. I also added some leftover cubed ham. I froze about 2 servings of the casserole uncooked with the directions written out on the top for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This was a good recipe, I would make it again however it took alot of my time preparing it. Probably because it was my first time, I think I could make it quicker my second time. I added chicken pieces to it to make it more of a meal. I used real butter, part of a block of Velveeta, shredded cheddar cheese, and added some celery salt(since I did not have celery) and lots of black pepper. The consistency was perfect, not too dry or mushy like alot of casseroles come out. I mixed everything up in a pot on the stove before I poured it in the pan that I baked in. I'd recommend doing that so you can taste it and add whatever seasoning you want before baking(it is a little bland if you don't do this).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I've kept your recipe for a very long time. Everyone I've ever fixed for likes it very much. Thank You for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Great way to use all that broccoli that I blanched and froze from the garden last fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcookmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Range, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States