Broccoli Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I've been making this casserole for about 30 years now, but instead of precooking the rice, I put the minute rice and an equal amount of water into the mix before baking at 350 for an hour. I also use more onion, but adding minute rice and water eliminates a step, some time, and an extra saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This recipe has been used at least once a year but because my whole entire family including in laws i have been asked numerous times since i found it too make it more than once So if you can make more different recipes or send some more that your family likes im sure thar my family will love them yours truly Mrs Katherine Preece from sherwood park Alberta canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I have had this recipe for years, try using jalepeno cheese whiz or half jalpeno and half regular if you don't like it too spicy. it makes it a little less bland for those who think it needs a punch. I also use about a cup of chopped celery sauted with the onions,gives it a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I brought this to a b-day party, everyone loved it! Followed the recipe exactly! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
My mom used to make this all the time when we were little, but of course she did not remember the recipe! My sister made this one and it was so good. A half recipe was perfect for five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This recipe was terrific! I changed it up a little but not much. I added some minced garlic when I sauted the onions and put in sharp cheddar cheese instead of the jar cheese also for a topping I added a layer of more shredded cheese and then mixed corn flakes with melted butter and put that atop of the cheese....It was sooooo tasty...I will definetly use this recipe again and again and again. Thanks Helen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Bland. Used shredded mild cheddar cheese and added some garlic and beaten egg to bind the ingredients. Won't be seeking this one out again. I will stick with my usual recipe. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Listen, five stars all the way! I don't know why this recipe would even begin to receive less than that! My family requests this delicious dish every gathering, and I love to impress guests with its overwhelming creaminess. Thanks, Helen, for sharing this hidden treasure. I love it and will never need another Broccoli Casserole again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This is the standard kid's recipe, which is exactly what I needed, but not something I would ever recommend. It's bland, it's easy, and the "cheese product" is the only flavor really distinguishable. You could use any processed, easily-melted cheese. It's a great way, according to my cousin, to sneak vegetables into her four-year-old! For adults, there are several nice variations here on this site that actually have flavor and texture. The one I've tried has an almond crust and a mixture of white cheeses. I might consider baking it in a mold next time, for presentation's sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Everyone devoured this dish on thanksgiving!! great recipe! Next time I would use less cheese (maybe 8-10oz) and add bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States