Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My Aunt made this for every Thanksgiving growing up. I made some changes because I wanted this to be more of a main dish. I used half the broccoli and added 2 cooked and diced chicken breast. I cut the mayo in half and used(light mayo). I added half a cup of low fat sour cream. Husband hates cream of mushroom so I substituted cream of broccoli. I skipped the salt and used regular garlic powder . For the topping I crushed some left over seasoned croutons and they browned beautifully and added flavor. I also added some about half a cup of instant rice. I will probably play around with the proportions on it some more. It was a hit my husband and family loved it. It was very easy to make into a family favorite main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I would have given 5 stars had it not been for the mayonnaise. We like mayonnaise and even though I used a reduced fat mayo it seemed to make it a little too rich. I will make it again but not include the mayo. I made a change in that I used the Campbell's Cream of Mushroom soup with Roasted Garlic. In light of the roasted garlic I did not add garlic salt, just a very light sprinkling of regular salt. It's a tasty recipe and worked well with some grilled chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Really good recipe. Made it by the recipe except used steamed fresh broccoli. Next time I will add some cayenne for a little extra zip. I will be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This dish was a holiday staple of my childhood, and I make it it for my family now, too. I do cut down on the mayo, and substitute florets for one of the boxes of chopped broccoli. I also use crushed Cheez-its for the crumb topping. It's the only recipe exempt from my "no recipes with condensed soup" rule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was truly awesome! Creamy and delicious! I usually don't make any major modifications, trusting that the cook knows what they were doing, but in this case I did make a small one. I used 1/2 cup mayo instead of 1 cup (that just sounds like too much) and added a cup more of the shredded cheddar (making it 2 cups). I also took another reader's suggestion and used cheez it's instead of butter crackers, but that was just because I forget to buy the crackers! SUPER YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I have tried a very similar recipe and it is a family favorite! I leave out the seasoning salt and use Pepperidge farms herb seasoned stuffing mix for the topping. Mix 2 cups of stuffing mix with 1/2 stick melted butter and sprinkle on top. I also don't mix in the cheese but I sprinkle it on top of the unbaked casserole before putting the stuffing mix on top. I use fresh broccoli cooked until crisp tender instead of frozen broccoli. This dish is absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is an old favorite (one of hubby's most requested!). I do make it a little differently using low fat subs for the soup, mayo, & cheese. I omit the eggs entirely and use 1 can broccoli soup and 1 can mushroom. I add cooked rice to the mix (thus the extra can of soup) and usually some cooked, cut up chicken to make it a meal. But it is really forgiving, and changing the soups, cheese, even the veggies, changes the flavors. It is easy, can be made ahead & frozen, and like someone else said, "comfort food".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Not for my tastebuds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This was good. Everyone liked it. But, I think I prefer my cheesy broccoli and rice casserole more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pella, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
My family loves it! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States