Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
It's good, but I'd rather just add chicken and have a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My Aunt made this for every Thanksgiving growing up. I made some changes because I wanted this to be more of a main dish. I used half the broccoli and added 2 cooked and diced chicken breast. I cut the mayo in half and used(light mayo). I added half a cup of low fat sour cream. Husband hates cream of mushroom so I substituted cream of broccoli. I skipped the salt and used regular garlic powder . For the topping I crushed some left over seasoned croutons and they browned beautifully and added flavor. I also added some about half a cup of instant rice. I will probably play around with the proportions on it some more. It was a hit my husband and family loved it. It was very easy to make into a family favorite main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I would have given 5 stars had it not been for the mayonnaise. We like mayonnaise and even though I used a reduced fat mayo it seemed to make it a little too rich. I will make it again but not include the mayo. I made a change in that I used the Campbell's Cream of Mushroom soup with Roasted Garlic. In light of the roasted garlic I did not add garlic salt, just a very light sprinkling of regular salt. It's a tasty recipe and worked well with some grilled chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Really good recipe. Made it by the recipe except used steamed fresh broccoli. Next time I will add some cayenne for a little extra zip. I will be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This dish was a holiday staple of my childhood, and I make it it for my family now, too. I do cut down on the mayo, and substitute florets for one of the boxes of chopped broccoli. I also use crushed Cheez-its for the crumb topping. It's the only recipe exempt from my "no recipes with condensed soup" rule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was truly awesome! Creamy and delicious! I usually don't make any major modifications, trusting that the cook knows what they were doing, but in this case I did make a small one. I used 1/2 cup mayo instead of 1 cup (that just sounds like too much) and added a cup more of the shredded cheddar (making it 2 cups). I also took another reader's suggestion and used cheez it's instead of butter crackers, but that was just because I forget to buy the crackers! SUPER YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I have tried a very similar recipe and it is a family favorite! I leave out the seasoning salt and use Pepperidge farms herb seasoned stuffing mix for the topping. Mix 2 cups of stuffing mix with 1/2 stick melted butter and sprinkle on top. I also don't mix in the cheese but I sprinkle it on top of the unbaked casserole before putting the stuffing mix on top. I use fresh broccoli cooked until crisp tender instead of frozen broccoli. This dish is absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is an old favorite (one of hubby's most requested!). I do make it a little differently using low fat subs for the soup, mayo, & cheese. I omit the eggs entirely and use 1 can broccoli soup and 1 can mushroom. I add cooked rice to the mix (thus the extra can of soup) and usually some cooked, cut up chicken to make it a meal. But it is really forgiving, and changing the soups, cheese, even the veggies, changes the flavors. It is easy, can be made ahead & frozen, and like someone else said, "comfort food".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Not for my tastebuds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This was good. Everyone liked it. But, I think I prefer my cheesy broccoli and rice casserole more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pella, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States