Broccoli Cashew Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This salad is great except for the dressing. Too sweet with the cider vinegar and sugar, so I used white vinegar and cut the sugar by half. Also added shredded cheddar cheese which make it just like my favorite Broccoli Salad at Sweet Tomato. Family loved at a bbq,and taking it a friends house tomorrow who asked me to bring a salad with meat in it (they're English!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nycvicky66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I used 1/4 c sugar and added the cashews last. I also subbed craisins for raisins. I like that there wasn't a lot of dressing. Plenty sweet. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was good and easy. I did reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup, and I am glad I did as it was plenty sweet enough with the reduced amount and the raisins. I also added the cashews right before serving as others suggested. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Love love love this recipe. I just use Turkey bacon instead of the regular bacon and craisins (orange are extra yummy) instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I just made this for 4th of July BBQ... wow was it good! I left out the onion and added a large can of drained pineapple chunks - it was killer!!! everybody loved it. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I made this for a church function, and the recipe made three to four quarts worth of salad; I only brought home about 1 cup. Everyone loved it. The sweet and savory flavors blend well, and it's also colorful and attractive on the table--it really stands out in a sea of creamy pasta salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I wanted so bad to try this recipe, and I would hate it if I gave it a bad rating. However, I would not be sincere if I said I liked it. The main problem is that it was overly sweet - the suggested amount of sugar is too much, in my opinion. I like well balanced sweet/savory dishes, but this tasted like a dessert! Also, the sugar/mayo mixture was too thick, and the raisins added even more to the sweetness of the dish. All in all, it is an interesting idea, but the final result was a disappointment. I really wish I could rate it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I liked the salad, but no one commented on it. I will make again though, I think it is more of a sumer time salad. Took advice and added cashews at the end to keep them crunchy. definetly a buffet / pot luck type of dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I cut sugar in half, put soymeat instead of pork, and put almonds and crasins... most excellent broccoli sald ever! This is going in my tried and true receipe section. Good-work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States