Broccoli Buffet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I had this recipe years ago and lost it. So I came to this sight to see if I could find it. I am very happy to have it again, as I really liked it and would take it to holiday luncheons and just substitute dried cranberries for raisens. Everyone always liked it. I was craving it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Very big hit at a number of different parties. I love this salad so much and often want leftovers, but there aren't any! It is lighter than the traditional version which is all mayonnaise (no yogurt) and also has bacon. This is much nicer. I usually add more broccoli than this recipe calls for as the amount of dressing is quite generous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is a great salad! I love broccoli salads, but the typical recipe is pretty unhealthy. This one looked a bit better than most, with yogurt instead of all that mayonnaise and lighter on some of the other ingredients that make these salads so heavy and fattening. I personally don't care for raisins in this salad, and I also don't like (and didn't have any) feta cheese, so I skipped both of those ingredients. As the submitter suggested, I added about 4 strips of crumbled bacon, to add some extra flavor. It came out absolutely delicious this way, and pretty healthy as well. Thanks for sharing this...I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I had this recipe years ago from a workmate who used to bring this salad to our pot lucks, EVERYONE LOVED this salad. I lost this recipe when I moved and and have been looking for it. I LOVE THIS SALAD, it is AWSOME Thanks, I am so happy it was posted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I played with the proportions a bit, did 1 tsp of honey in place of some of the sugar, and did add about 8 slices of crumbled bacon to the top. I hate mayonnaise, but you can't taste it in this salad - I think "cutting" it with yogurt helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This recipe was a smash at my Moms birthday picnic! She just raves about it. Very refreshing and lite on a hot day. Like that it didnt have bacon. Made a few changes: Used Dried cranberries instead of raisens and used orange juice (fresh sqeezed) instead of lemon juice. Also only used 1 tbs of sugar since orange juice is sweeter than lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is a good, quick and easy recipe. I only made a few changes: added crumbled bacon and diced cooked chicken, and used shredded cheddar cheese instead of the feta. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouFromNO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Awesome salad! I didn't have any yogurt on hand, so I used all mayo. And the lemon juice struck me as odd for some reason, so I subbed apple cider vinegar instead (only 1/2T). I also used only a 1/2T of sugar, and that, along with the apple cider vinegar, made it sweet enough. The feta in this recipe is wonderful. And like others, I used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I knew I wouldn't be able to eat all of this salad by myself, so I kept the broccoli separate from the "dressing." Outstanding recipe! Next time, I'll throw in some crumbled turkey bacon! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
It was a big hit| Really simple too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
this is great! I changed it to my diet and it was terrific. I used chopped almonds instead of raisins, used fat free plain yogurt, low fat feta and turkey bacon diced. I also used 1/2 packet of splenda instead of the sugar. My husband loved it as much as I did. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Maloof

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States