Broccoli Beef II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Delicious! This has become a regular in our house. I put stew meat in the crock pot and cover it with the marinade mixture. Then when I get home from work I make rice instead of pasta and thaw a bag of frozen broccoli in the microwave. Mix the meat and broccoli and put it over the rice. Its an easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hinckley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This dish is delicious and easily made. Instead of using small mushrooms, I bought one large mushroom and sliced it to death, which came out great for this dish. I also substituted 1 cup of rice for the pasta, because I think that Chinese dishes should have a rice base and not pasta. If you substitute rice, you may need to use more bullion. Finally, I used a bag of frozen broccoli florets that I defrosted for 1 minute in the microwave- I find that most frozen vegetables are actually fresher and taste better when frozen than when you buy them supposedly "fresh," plus you get more for your money since you're not buying the lousy broccoli stalks. For those who say that the dish was bland or was too tough, maybe this is what went wrong: Make sure that the beef is cut thin. Some supermarkets sell round beef "sandwich slices" with little fat and cut thin- all you really might need to do is to cut each slice in half and you'll be good to go. It was quite tender when I made it, unlike some people's remarks here. Important: make sure the cut is from Round Beef or Top Sirloin, not chuck, “stew beef” or something else inferior. The recipe says to throw out the marinade before mixing the beef with the rest of the dish. Don't do that. Instead, make sure you really press all the marinade well into the beef using the back of a fork when marinating. If you do that then you won't have any extra marinade to discard anyway. This gives the beef excellent flavor and makes it tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Middleton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
This was soooo good! I used a regular onion instead of green onions (didn't have any) and used no yolk egg noodles instead of the linguine. I also added a splash of orange juice to the stir fry. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was so good. I let the meat simmer for an hour because my husband was late from work, then added broccoli and mushrooms. The meat was very tender and the flavors blended nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
The portions were off, the cooktime was understated by about 15 minutes, way way way too salty. I spent over an hour slaving just to waste product and mess up my kitchen. Will NEVER ever make this again. Do not recommend for anybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This recipe is great! I did not include the mushrooms, and used my own beef broth (saved in the freezer from a previous pot roast) and potato starch instead of corn starch. It was very simple to cook, and it tasted like "real" chinese. The whole family loved it and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Fantastic recipe! It's delicious cold too. I'm giving 4 stars because I altered it a little bit. If you're interested: I didn't have Italian dressing so I didn't use it. I used a little extra soy, hoisin sauce, fresh minced ginger in place of ground and a couple shakes of red pepper flakes. Marinated it for an hour or so. I think the beef bouillian cubes added to the pasta water make all the difference...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This is a good beef broccoli recipe and the inclusion of noodles makes it like a traditional lo mein (soft noodle) dish. A definite 'keeper'. Thanks Jolene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This dish was really good! It was very flavorful and really did taste like take-out. Needed a little more sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Okay. It says that it tastes "like take-out." But I've never had takeout broccoli beef with pasta. Have you??? Plain steamed rice is better when it's on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States