Broccoli Beef II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
The flavor of the beef was terrific - I think that it's a great start. What I didn't like about this recipe is the pasta. I would cook this with rice or with Asian noodles instead. I would also replace the 1/2 c of beef broth with water and beef bouillon in the sauce. I think that adding a little bit of corn starch to the sauce would make it a little thicker/richer instead of thin and watery. This really is a great recipe though - lots of flavor & Asian flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I added crushed red pepper for a little more flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
It was a decent dish. I used everything low sodium (soy sauce, beef broth, boullion) and it still had enough saltiness. I only marinated the suggested time but I think it would benefit from a longer marinade. I just bought the stir fry beef from the store precut and it was pretty tough. I think I'll simmer it longer next time to see if it becomes more tender. But I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I used whole wheat linguine. It was a tasty recipe, although it was a little bland. I would make this again, but with more teriyaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Great dish and easy to put together. I had a tough piece of meat, so I changed it up a little and let it simmer in the broth (with a few carrots) until tender. I used Raman noodles and the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Exactly like the take out I used to get. I'm not sure why everyone is switching to rice...we had pasta with it when I got take out, and the pasta with this is amazing. Even my 5 year old ate the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I did not like this at all and will not be making it again. I found the meat was too tough and the sauce wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This was very good! My picky teenage boys really enjoyed it too. Since they eat so much food, I did 12 oz of whole wheat pasta instead and doubled the sauce to make it go a bit further. I loved the flavor of the pasta after boiling it in the bullion cubes. What a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Wow!! This was incredible. The only change I made was I added a thinly sliced carrot (my daughters love carrot in the beef broccoli from our favorite Chinese restaurant). I added the carrots with the mushrooms & green onion. It was incredible..no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Boring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States