Broccoli Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
The sauce and broccoli were good, but the meat cooked tough and chewy. I don't know if it was user error or the recipe, as I've never accidentally done that before? Anyway not that great, probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Everyone seemed to like it, but they said something was missing. I may sprinkle a little crushed pepper to spice it up next time. I doubled all ingredients except for the sugar, I used 1/2 tsp. of brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. ground ginger and in addition to the minced garlic, I sprinkled some garlic powder in too. Thanks to Mike T for his recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I didn't read the reviews before I made this, and I guess I should have. I don't usually follow a recipe exactly, but I did with this one. However, it came out extremely bland. I like all of the elements but it has no real flavor. Definitely needs salt, pepper and onion at a minimum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Made this for the second time and it is very close to restaurant quality and taste, if you follow some of the modifications in the reviews. I doubled the sauce recipe and parboiled the broccoli, and added an onion. Will keep this in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I looked up several of this recipe on this site and others; this was the best basic recipe. Mike T's review I followed many of his suggestions. I also used about 2 T oyster sauce, some sesame oil and corn starch instead of flour, stevia extract instead of sugar. I marinated the cut beef strips in sauce a few minutes took beef out with slotted spoon, cooked a few minutes, and then took beef out of pan. Sauce in the pan I added remaining marinade, then added corn starch, cooked and stirred till it was gravy/sauce consistency. Cut onion slices added to broccoli. Returned beef to gravy/sauce, then broccoli and onions, cooked a few minutes so vegetables were heated but still a little crisp, served on rice. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
this recipe I have now used several times. It is just perfect for us, as is and I have recommended it to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Made for dinner tonight and it was really good. i did not change anything made as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This was fine, but lacked something. I used dried ginger, so maybe that was why. It kind of tasted like just a beef gravy... Next time I will try adding the cayenne others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
My husband loved this recipe after I generously increased the fresh ginger. Quick and easy for someone who works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This recipe was so good! I am very picky about my Chinese take-out and this will replace it! I bought pre-tenderized round steaks and cooked the strips in sesame oil. The sauce/gravy was amazing! We were impressed. It thickened perfectly and there was plenty of extra sauce for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni R Greim-Findley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States