Broccoli Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Save your steak for something else! I made it the way it was written and it was a thick gooey mess even before adding the broccoli. There was nothing to steam the broccoli in so I added more broth...and more broth...to finally cook the broccoli. Needed more Soy and pretty much everything else to add flavor. It was just a sweet gooey mess of bland flour, meat and broccoli. Went to suggestions here and added more flavor before serving. Still not a winner in my house and a waste of expensive meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This was yummy. I added toasted sesame seeds and extra fresh ginger to suit the tastes of the family. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Falls, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
8/25/13 Dan, Josh, & I loved this dish. Low cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Great recipe as is, but I think I will add some red pepper flakes next time for my own taste. Also had to add a little extra beef broth while cooking because the sauce thickened up too quickly. Excellent served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
The sauce and broccoli were good, but the meat cooked tough and chewy. I don't know if it was user error or the recipe, as I've never accidentally done that before? Anyway not that great, probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Everyone seemed to like it, but they said something was missing. I may sprinkle a little crushed pepper to spice it up next time. I doubled all ingredients except for the sugar, I used 1/2 tsp. of brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. ground ginger and in addition to the minced garlic, I sprinkled some garlic powder in too. Thanks to Mike T for his recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I didn't read the reviews before I made this, and I guess I should have. I don't usually follow a recipe exactly, but I did with this one. However, it came out extremely bland. I like all of the elements but it has no real flavor. Definitely needs salt, pepper and onion at a minimum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Made this for the second time and it is very close to restaurant quality and taste, if you follow some of the modifications in the reviews. I doubled the sauce recipe and parboiled the broccoli, and added an onion. Will keep this in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I looked up several of this recipe on this site and others; this was the best basic recipe. Mike T's review I followed many of his suggestions. I also used about 2 T oyster sauce, some sesame oil and corn starch instead of flour, stevia extract instead of sugar. I marinated the cut beef strips in sauce a few minutes took beef out with slotted spoon, cooked a few minutes, and then took beef out of pan. Sauce in the pan I added remaining marinade, then added corn starch, cooked and stirred till it was gravy/sauce consistency. Cut onion slices added to broccoli. Returned beef to gravy/sauce, then broccoli and onions, cooked a few minutes so vegetables were heated but still a little crisp, served on rice. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
this recipe I have now used several times. It is just perfect for us, as is and I have recommended it to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States