Broccoli Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
i used mike t's recipe based on the reviews and it turned out great. very tasty but the sauce was a lil thin. no problem cause you can just use a slotted spoon and pull the tender meat and crisp but tender broccoli out. 5 stars for mike t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was great. I made no modifications, but I can't give it a 5 because I don't think it had an authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I used shaved beef which worked great. First, I used a combo of sesame and chili oil and browned some sesame seeds (my kids love them) as well as a jalapeno and a red chili (cut in half so I could remove them later) and garlic. Then I browned the meat and added the sauce. I didn't have fresh ginger so I used powder to taste. Also, I used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 splenda instead of white sugar. Finally, I added a splash of orange juice. The heat from the peppers was perfect. I still have a mild tingling on my tongue. Oh, yeah I added more broth so I had more juice to put over my very sticky rice... I suck at cooking rice! I would definitely eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
great! it was absolutely delicious. we had sauteed some sweet onions and added them in. it made the taste pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Basham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Great recipe! I used leftover flank steak and sauteed with onions...turned out great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This just didn't taste the way it should. Something in the ingredients just isn't right, it may be the sugar. If you don't know how Chinese food is suppose to taste, it may be alright, but I will keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Everything was perfect when following the recipe. I wouldn't suggest changing anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Velez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I wasn't too sure about making this, but we had all the ingredients that needed to be used up so I gave it a try. We were very impressed! I have to say that while it was cooking it didn't look too appetizing, but it really was delicious! My husband, after one bite, asked me to make this again. He doesn't usually comment on what I make, so he must really like this. I didn't have beef broth so I used chicken broth. And I used powdered ginger rather than fresh. Very very good. Very very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I give the reviewers that posted their changes 5 stars, the basic recipe I will give 3 stars since by itself it seems mediocre. Based on other suggestions I changed the recipe: beef broth (10 oz), 1 tbsp brown sugar, 1 tbsp dark soy sauce, 1 tbsp soy sauce, ½ tsp ground ginger, 2 cloves minced garlic, ¼ tsp red pepper flakes, ½ cup chopped green onion, and ½ tsp black pepper, stirring together with the ¼-cup flour. The gravy was good. Next time I make will have to remember to take a picture to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michi Ilundaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Suring, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
this was freakin awesome!!!!!! it was the first chinese dish i have attempted and it came out sooooo good. I also used stew meat, it was all i had, and still umm numnum~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States