Broccoli and Tortellini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Fabulous, but I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins, doubled the dressing as noted before and let this "meld" in the refrigerator overnight. I added a few chopped cashews as well, just for good measure. Very excellent salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy LaRue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I only made half this recipe and it was dinner for 2 and then leftovers for lunch the next day. Blanced the broccoli as suggested. Used 1.5x the amount of mayo suggested but used olive oil based mayo to lighten. Also used turkey bacon for same reason. Only used 1 tbs raw sugar. This recipe is sweet enough with the raisins in each bit that the dressing does not need to be that sweet. Also used mix of sunflower/pumpkin seeds with peanuts since that is what I had in the house. Only half of recommended onion. Used tri-color three cheese tortellini for a bit more color. Wish I had done as recommended by some and held back a bit of the dressing for serving at the table. A good recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Fantastic salad! It's a hit everytime I make it. I did have to adjust the ingredients a bit as follows: I used 24 oz. tortellini, doubled the bacon, tripled the mayo, reduced sugar to 1/4 cup, used 1/2 cup of craisins instead of raisins, and only used 1/2 cup of sunflower seeds. Sooo yummy. Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I was not a fan of this salad, although I love the classic broccoli salad without pasta. There is twice as much sugar in this recipe and it did not make a very good dressing. The pasta picked up no flavor. It's edible, but I gave away what was left, which was most of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was really good! It's like the salad with ramen noodles, but it's even better with the cheese tortellini. I took it to a family get-together and there was none left over to bring home, much to my husband's unhappinesss. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
i am going to try to make this weekend. read the reviews and have a suggestion that works for me which is to use sour cream or yogurt in place of the mayo(or a combo of each) as it does not seem to soak in like all mayo. perhaps not as much oil? also use a combo of mayo and sour cream or plain yogurt on potato salad for the same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Dearolf Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
YUMMMMMMMMY!!!!! I did take the advice of one person and blanch the broccoli. I actually blanched it in the same water I boiled for the tortellini but I blanched it before I put the tortellini in. This is so differnet and I LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spreilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I just made this for my party this weekend.... YUM!! I fried up a whole pound of bacon (not just 6 slices), omitted the raisins, used mostly mayonnaise and a little bit of cole-slaw dressing (I don't like salads like this too sweet)... used boxed dried Barilla-brand tortellini, added about two cups of freshly grated sharp cheddar and definitely blanched the broccoli. Outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
yummy!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Poole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Very yummy. I typically do not like broccoli, but I thought I would try this for something different. Mmm, glad I did! I tried this with a dried tortellini (in pasta aisle) and another time with frozen tortellini. Both times turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States