Broccoli and Tortellini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Lovely recipe that I modified slightly. Used 20oz of the dry tortellini and blanched the broccoli in the pasta water at the end of cooking for 2mins. Used 3/4 cup mayo with 1/4 cup sugar and 3TBLS of cider vinegar. Mixed a the dressing, veggies,pasta and craisins together and chilled over night. Mixed in the bacon and seeds right before serving to my co-workers that loved it. What little that was left tasted even better the next day!! Thank you AMFC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Way too much sugar. All that sugar turns this into a dessert and it loses all its nutrients from the broccoli. Cut that sugar down and you'll be good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I ordered a version of this salad from a local deli and loved it. So, I came on allrecipes to try to find a similar recipe. Thank goodness I did...I could eat this salad for breakfast, lunch and dinner! For the dressing I mixed 1/2 cup of miracle whip, 1/2 cup regular mayo, and 1/4 cup sugar (which is plenty of sugar--you could easily get away with using even less than 1/4 cup). I prefer to use golden raisins. Also, I think it is best if you cut up the broccoli into small bite size pieces (only using the florets and omitting the stem/stalk). Absolutely my favorite! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
AWESOME!! Tweeked it a bit. Used 2 cups of the dry tortellini and I left out the sunflower seeds. Per the other reviews I blanched the broccoli. I used 3/4 cup mayo, 1/3 cup sugar and 3 teaspoons cider vinegar. A definite keeper and will be making it again for Memorial Day weekend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
It's good, but unless you just want to rot your teeth and get extra calories without any added nutrition it doesn't need all that sugar. I put in half the amount in the recipe and it was still a little too sweet for me. Next time I will make it with 1/4 the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I love broccoli salad, and this one with the pasta is so good! I can make it as a complete dinner, and my husband (who is not crazy about veggies) always goes back for seconds. If I am short on time, I use Lite Italian dressing instead of the sugar and vinegar; that tastes almost the same. We do leave the raisins out, as neither of us like them. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graygirl364

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Doubled the recipe for large party. Instead of using 2 pkgs of Tortellini I substituted one of the pkg with that colorful macaroni. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This is an excellent salad, could also be a good side dish. Make sure not to overcook the tortellini. Ann really likes this, so I upped the rating to a '5'. Don't serve this cold - let it warm to room temperature, she suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
do exactly as said, double the dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Good idea, but the dressing is too sweet for the cheese-filled tortellini in my opinion. I did follow others' suggestions and mixed with about half of the dressing, decided the sweet dressing didn't work, so finished with ranch dressing instead. Family gathering enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States