Broccoli and Tortellini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I followed another reviewer's suggestion and blanched the broccoli for 30 seconds and plunged in ice water--excellent suggestion. It resulted in a lovely green color and was easier to eat than raw. The salad generally was too sweet for us, even though I cut back on the sugar. I also used less onion since I made the salad the evening before and didn't want the onion to overwhelm the other flavors. I mixed in a portion of the dressing and refrigerated the salad overnight. Mixed in the remainder of the dressing just before serving. Texture was great, but sweetness seemed not compatible with the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I made it for a family get together and it was a huge success! My mom even asked me for the recipe! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
EVERY TIME I make this salad there is always somebody that wants the recipe. I use the frozen bags of tortellini that cook in 5 minutes and it still tastes great. I love bacon but am trying to eat healthier so instead of buying a whole lb of bacon get the real bacon pieces from the salad dressing aisle. 6 Tbsps = 6 slices. Use 1/2 cup of light miracle whip to cut the fat and only 1/2 a red onion is enough in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Great recipe! Followed suggestions made by other reviewers. Cut back to 1/2 onion (and was still strong), cut back to 1/4 c sugar (was plenty), used 3 tsp vinegar, cut back to 1/4 c sunflower seeds, added 1/4 c pecans, omitted raisins and lastly topped w/ some shredded cheddar cheese. My husband preferred the changes and agreed, recipe could cut back even more on onion. Didn't need to blanche broccoli (prefer more nutrition eating raw veggies). Used frozen tortellini. Had made bacon and eggs for breakfast this morning and was able to prepare bacon for this recipe for dinner saving time. Quick and delicious! Even w/ slight alterations.... still 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Very good pasta salad. I added shredded cheddar cheese to it (can't have too much cheese) I made it for Thanksgiving so I also substituted craisins instead of raisins. I also made it the night before to get the flavors to blend, but it got a little dried out, so I ended up adding an addtional 1/4 cup of mayo. Very flavorful and nice crunch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I take this to work potlucks and without fail it is the first thing to go even though I always make more each time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I felt that this was too oniony. I brought it to a potluck and it barely got touched. Also, don't freak out if the dressing seems too sweet when you first whip it up -- it'll mellow out as the savouriness of the bacon permeates through. This is why I feel that it's essential to let the salad sit overnight before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I thought this recipe was great. I added pecans for a little crunch instead of sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Good tasting salad. I didn't like all the sunflower seeds, I would cut that in half, as well as the raisins. Found it needed a bit more dressing then the recipe called for. So I used a 1/4cup more mayo and a little more viniger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shananananan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This recipe is very yummy and a balanced meal if you use torellini filled with cheese. I did not have any red onions, and used rice wine vinegar for a touch of sweet but NO SUGAR. I also used organic canadian bacon. Next time I won't use quite so many raisins. I'd give this 4 1/2 but only because it has too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States