Broccoli and Tortellini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe that everyone raved about. I did not add the raisens, and used only half the amount of sugar. It was definitely sweet enough. I used frozen cheese tortellini and I will cook it less next time. It kind of fell apart a little when I stirred the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I'm giving this *** because I did not care for this, at all. No one loved it, but some of the fam said it was "good." The only thing I did different was omit the onion, but I do that all the time in our favorite broccoli salad, which is amazing and still taste great without the onion. I'll definitely be going back to that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This salad is the best. My family loves it. I've even added shredded carrots to this recipe and this too was a great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This salad was great! I loved the cheese tortellini! I used craisins which gave it some color and tasted great. I did blanch the broccoli as others suggested. I would recommend blanching the red onion as well, because it had an overpowering onion flavor. Otherwise, just cut down on the onion by about half. I did double the dressing as others had suggested, but I really don't think I needed to, even after sitting overnight I had more than enough dressing to coat. Maybe just make sure you have enough dressing ingredients on hand, in case you need to whip up a little more. Overall, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
All the ingredients really compliment each other in this recipe. Will make many more times. Hubby would have like the broccoli cooked but not sure how that would taste. I think the crunch in this salad is what is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe. I followed recipe except reduced red onion to only 1/4 of an onion. Next time I will reduce the raisens and sunflower seeds. But the flavors are perfect together and the dressing is just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I followed another reviewer's suggestion and blanched the broccoli for 30 seconds and plunged in ice water--excellent suggestion. It resulted in a lovely green color and was easier to eat than raw. The salad generally was too sweet for us, even though I cut back on the sugar. I also used less onion since I made the salad the evening before and didn't want the onion to overwhelm the other flavors. I mixed in a portion of the dressing and refrigerated the salad overnight. Mixed in the remainder of the dressing just before serving. Texture was great, but sweetness seemed not compatible with the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I made it for a family get together and it was a huge success! My mom even asked me for the recipe! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
EVERY TIME I make this salad there is always somebody that wants the recipe. I use the frozen bags of tortellini that cook in 5 minutes and it still tastes great. I love bacon but am trying to eat healthier so instead of buying a whole lb of bacon get the real bacon pieces from the salad dressing aisle. 6 Tbsps = 6 slices. Use 1/2 cup of light miracle whip to cut the fat and only 1/2 a red onion is enough in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Great recipe! Followed suggestions made by other reviewers. Cut back to 1/2 onion (and was still strong), cut back to 1/4 c sugar (was plenty), used 3 tsp vinegar, cut back to 1/4 c sunflower seeds, added 1/4 c pecans, omitted raisins and lastly topped w/ some shredded cheddar cheese. My husband preferred the changes and agreed, recipe could cut back even more on onion. Didn't need to blanche broccoli (prefer more nutrition eating raw veggies). Used frozen tortellini. Had made bacon and eggs for breakfast this morning and was able to prepare bacon for this recipe for dinner saving time. Quick and delicious! Even w/ slight alterations.... still 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States