Broccoli and Stilton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I ended up changing this recipe because I didn't have blue cheese, there wasn't enough broccoli for us and I didn't use the oil to saute the onion. But it was the start of my own recipe which I am submitting to allrecipes.com next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
My husband went nuts when he tasted this! He can't stop eating it. I added garlic and an extra can of chicken broth because it was very thick. I also added extra stilton---just because I love it. I am going to make this for my gourmet New Years Eve dinner I am making for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
YUM! YUM! YUM! I have been pining for 9 years for the soup I fell in love with while studying abroad in Cambridge, England, so I was so shocked and happy to find a broccoli & stilton soup recipe here. When I started making it, I was worried that I had built it up too much in my head, and I didn't want to be disappointed. I WASN'T! This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as stated, but I think maybe the potatoes I used were a little big, because it came out a bit thick. I just added another cup of broth, and it was awesome. I served it with french bread and butter. Simple and perfect! This recipe didn't even need extra salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shopperooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I slightly changed the recipe by adding 3 extra ounces of Stilton plus garlic, salt, pepper and dried mixed herbs. I also used only two cups of chicken broth and added two cups of veg stock instead because I was worried the soup would taste too chickeny. I was very pleased with my soup. It tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Fantastic and simple. You really have to be a fan of blue cheese to like this. I added a minced clove of garlic about 30 seconds before adding the vegetables. Don't forget to season with salt and pepper. When adding the cheese, I added a dash of red pepper flakes to give it a little bite. It was perfect. Must have some chewy, crusty bread to dip with. Fantastic! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
A very quick and tasty soup. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcus Pett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
First time we have ever tried using Stilton cheese and we just didn't like it at all. The flavor was off and wasn't what we expected. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Excellent soup, wasn't sure what taste waas going to be, but loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
the soup was excellent all our family and friends agree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Nice filling soup. Some may want to add more stilton for a stronger flavor, but I liked it as is. Definately needs added pepper and perhaps salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States