Broccoli and Stilton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I love stilton, but it does have a very strong flavor and this was a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Valparaiso, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Newmarket, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Bit too greasy tasting with that amount of Stilton but will make again with a little less cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by falkirkscottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I first tried this soup a few Christmases ago my auntie made it and I loved it. I made the soup the other day and it was absolutely amazing and simple. my favourite soup by far :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is more or less on the nose - however it needs a little more stilton and maybe a swirl of cream before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was a nice warm soup on a cold and rainy Saturday. This soup is low in calories as it does not contain any cream - it uses chicken stock instead. When the soup was done cooling a bit I used my immersion blender because I wanted some chunks left in the soup. I couldn't find stilton cheese so I used bleu cheese in mine and feta cheese in my husbands. We both enjoyed the soup. A great way to use up a bunch of broccoli. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this with broccoli stems (peeled & diced small) instead of the florets. I halved the recipe, and added a clove of garlic, minced, at the same time as the onions. After simmering, I pureed the veggies & broth in a blender, and strained back into the pot, then reheated & added the cheese. It was delicious! You can easily taste the Stilton even though not a lot is used. (Love, love love Stilton!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
great soup, I usually double the broth and blue cheese and use 3 potatoes. I do not blend the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I love that there is no cream in this recipe! It tasted great, practically licked the bowl clean. We did add more cheese but only because we love cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Eh. It was really hard to rate this one because I don't know what I was expecting. It's not good but not bad either. I couldn't find stilton cheese, so I used blue cheese. If I were to make it again, I think I would add more veggies (cauliflower, carrots, squash, etc) and not use nearly as much cheese. Or maybe not as much blue cheese and add some parmesan or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krismrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Made this the other night. Very easy, very quick. Like a few others I added some garlic to the mix before the stock went in. To make it a bit more 'chunky' I used a potato masher rather than blender and the results were excellent. Very nice recipe, thx Anronicky. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fragso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States