Broccoli and Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
My family really enjoyed this. I followed the recipe except I steamed the onions with the broccoli and added a little seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving 2005 and it was very good and different. I made it exactly as the recipe says and I don't think I would change a thing when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I just did not care for the idea of steamed onions. I sauteed the onions in a small amount of olive oil with 1 clove garlic chopped and kept everything else as is. I liked this as a nice alternative to the traditional green bean casserole we always serve at the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This is the same recipe I use, it`s absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I love this recipe! Tastes great & it's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This recipe was delicious!! I made this for a "pot luck" dinner at a friends house that was a pastry chief for President Carter. He, who is hard to impress, asked me for the recipe!! Thank You!! ps... i gave you all of the credit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Excellent recipe & its not very difficult to prepare. I doubled the amount of broccoli added about 1 tablespoon of Goya seasoning salt, crushed red pepper and a lot more garlic to increase the flavor. Also instead of cream cheese I added low fat Greek yogurt to cut fat and increase protein. My husband loved this dish so much he ate the whole dish in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very nice. I think a nice variation could incorporate little garlic as well. Maybe next time I will saute the onions in garlic rather than just boil them. A little cracked black pepper would be a nice addition to the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This recipe is delicious! Like others, I did make a few changes. I made it a lower carb meal by omitting the flour and bread crumbs. I also shredded an 8 oz block of PepperJack Cheese, rather than the cheddar, and added 1 tsp salt and 1 tsp garlic powder. This will definitely be a repeated recipe in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I loved this. And it was easy. I used two 12oz steamer bags of broccoli. Cooked them in the microwave. I sliced one large onion and cooked that in the microwave with a couple of teaspoons of butter until tender. Made the sauce as written except added 1 teaspoon of dry mustard and salt and pepper with the flour. The breadcrumbs and cheese made a nice crunchy topping. This all fit into a 7x11 pan. Just because I had some, I sprinkled some sliced and toasted almonds on my serving. I am not a fan of the green bean casserole that is often served at Christmas. I'm bringing this to the next holiday get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States