Broccoli and Garlic Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Surprising light and tasty, and quite easy to make. I did tweak the recipe a bit: - doubled the broth, - substituted 1 1/2 Tbsp fresh basil for the dried stuff - added extra garlic - added 1 chicken breast, cubed (for 2 people) - added 1 1/2 Tbsp each cornflour and water to thicken it I cooked the chicken in the broth for about 5-7 minutes before adding the broccoli. Don't be tempted to skip the lemon juice on the cooked pasta - it really adds a bit of zip to the whole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is just "ok". Nothing to write home about/serve company, but still a pleasant weeknight meal and eons better than fast food. I made it as is (minus the black pepper, of course) and I doubled the garlic (which i sauteed in a dash of EVOO before adding the rest)...ok, I guess not quite "as is". I also added a few dashes of minced onion (next time I will use "real", I just didn't have any). Start the pasta water boiling before you do anything else (I had my broccoli ready and waiting before my pasta water was boiling) and start your pasta before you begin to chop your broccoli. This does NOT take long at all, as long as it takes for the pasta water to boil and pasta to cook. I used whole wheat penne and topped w/parm cheese (grated, all I had) and a dash of crushed red pepper. I'm not a huge basil fan, but it was such a scant amount it was a nice touch, as was the lemon juice. I don't know that this would be as good w/frozen broc. I'm excited to see how it is for lunch tomorrow. UPDATE: Since I've made this a ton of times since my initial review, I must like it more than I thought! I'm amending my review to a "5", w/the "caveat" to add MORE garlic. With the addition of plenty of garlic & some crushed red pepper (along w/whole wheat pasta), this is a great simply healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I found this to be very bland. After following the recipe as written I wound up adding all kinds of stuff to give it more flavor. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativesense

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was simple and delicious! Very low fat, and the kids loved it:-) I added cut up chicken breast, and about a TBL of cornstarch and water just to thicken the broth a tad...made it stick to the noodles a bit:-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is one of my favorites for simple weekenight cooking. I generally use whole-wheat or spinach pasta because I find that it holds up better to the cooked broccoli, and the texture provides a nice contrast. Also, I usually double the garlic to give it a little more flavor. If you still find it to be a little bland, add some crushed red pepper flakes when you serve! Provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I enjoyed this dish, although I will admit that I did make some changes based on what some of the other reviews said. I made a roux using 2TBSP butter and 2TBSP cornstarch, and added that to thicken the sauce up. I also added an onion to the original sauce and used 1.5 cups of the chicken broth. I applied all herbs and seasonings to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Not the greatest recipe by itself, but I think with a little more tweaking it might work. I used double or more chicken broth and added cornstartch per other reviewers. I also tried adding a little pesto, and that gave it a tad more flavor. Still pretty bland though. I'll try adding more if I ever do decide to make it again, which isn't likely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Had to use Rotini instead of Penne because that is what I had. I am amazed at how easy this recipe was and how much flavor the finished dish had. We really liked this for dinner and it was super easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Made the recipe using exact measurements. Was to bland for me. I added more cheese,more broth,cut up cooked chicken breast. Was ok, my four year old nephew devoured it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This was good and so fast and easy. The only changes I made were that I added more garlic, more parmesan and about a tablespoon of butter. I definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States