Broccoli and Garlic Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Excellent for a super fast nutricious light meal. My little boys 4 and 2 loved it. I would even make it as a side dish without the pasta because the brocoli was so tender and yummy. It's nice to find a quick way to cook veggies that's yummy for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was good, however I did use extra garlic like others suggested. I used whole grain pasta and added extra lemon juice. It was better the next day for lunch as the flavors had seasoned through. Will definately make often! Super quick and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This was good and so fast and easy. The only changes I made were that I added more garlic, more parmesan and about a tablespoon of butter. I definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Not the greatest recipe by itself, but I think with a little more tweaking it might work. I used double or more chicken broth and added cornstartch per other reviewers. I also tried adding a little pesto, and that gave it a tad more flavor. Still pretty bland though. I'll try adding more if I ever do decide to make it again, which isn't likely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This was just ok. It was very easy to prepare and quick, too. I don't know if I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I found this to be very bland. After following the recipe as written I wound up adding all kinds of stuff to give it more flavor. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativesense

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Made the recipe using exact measurements. Was to bland for me. I added more cheese,more broth,cut up cooked chicken breast. Was ok, my four year old nephew devoured it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Not a main course, unless you add chicken and something more for flavor. I won't make this again, even as a side dish, I can make one from a box that has more flavor and more economical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Simple and fast! I added fresh garden peas to mine and some extra seasoning to suit my tastes. I forget how nice a simple veggie and poasta dish can be, so this was a nice reminder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is just "ok". Nothing to write home about/serve company, but still a pleasant weeknight meal and eons better than fast food. I made it as is (minus the black pepper, of course) and I doubled the garlic (which i sauteed in a dash of EVOO before adding the rest)...ok, I guess not quite "as is". I also added a few dashes of minced onion (next time I will use "real", I just didn't have any). Start the pasta water boiling before you do anything else (I had my broccoli ready and waiting before my pasta water was boiling) and start your pasta before you begin to chop your broccoli. This does NOT take long at all, as long as it takes for the pasta water to boil and pasta to cook. I used whole wheat penne and topped w/parm cheese (grated, all I had) and a dash of crushed red pepper. I'm not a huge basil fan, but it was such a scant amount it was a nice touch, as was the lemon juice. I don't know that this would be as good w/frozen broc. I'm excited to see how it is for lunch tomorrow. UPDATE: Since I've made this a ton of times since my initial review, I must like it more than I thought! I'm amending my review to a "5", w/the "caveat" to add MORE garlic. With the addition of plenty of garlic & some crushed red pepper (along w/whole wheat pasta), this is a great simply healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States