Broccoli and Four Cheese Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made the crust by the recipe in my bread machine and it was too dry. I added more water. I didn't have mozzarella, so I used Romano. I also added chicken and cooked with the cheese and broccoli. I cooked at 500 and for 20 mins. The dough was so hard that we just broke open and ate that. I may try again with pre-made dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I substituted fresh broccoli (put it in raw so it did not get mushy when cooked), and added dried oregano, crushed red pepper and freshly grated garlic and omitted the provolone. Used refrigerated pizza dough and added homemade pizza sauce inside the calzone. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Mama mia where do I begin! Labor intensive and bland. A pinch more salt, oregano and garlic to the overall recipe. Use less dough for the fold over. Think balance between the filling and the amount of crust you want. I would do this one again but do it with a meat filling instead. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isla HoMeMakR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Yummy!!! I also used frozen bread dough...and had alfredo sauce on the side for dipping! Like others, the cook time was off and they were ready in 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This was a quick delicious recipe... I made the dough in advance, used some for pizza, froze the rest and then thawed it for this recipe... it really cut down on prep time. It was easy to alter the recipe by adding my favorite fresh veggies and meat or meat subsitute. Highly recomended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss elizabeth <3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
These were very good, but the baking time is a little off. I had put them in a preheated oven and set my timer for 20 minutes and it was too much, next time I will bake them only for 10/15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunnyzita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valencia, Carabobo, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Very pretty. But too much dough. Or, not enough filling. Will make again, but halve the dough. Making the dough in the breadmaker was new to me, but I liked it a lot. Plus, it was a whole lot easier than mixing by hand, which is what I usually do with pizza. Would definitely recommend putting marinara on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Yum! My first try at making calzones and these came out great. My only modification was using cheddar cheese instead of provolone, and adding some ham that I shredded in the food processor and they still came out great. Everyone loved them and ate their entire calzone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
i thought this was excellent-i used store bought frozen pizza dough and thawed it according to package directions.I also just spiced up the dough w/basil,oregano and italian seasoning-and omitted the provolone cheese-and baked at 450-not 500 degreesfor about the same time-will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States