Broccoli and Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This was extremely good. My husband loved it! Like a previous reviewer, I added a can of cream of mushroom soup.. I think it really helped out the texture and flavor. I also sauteed some cut up chicken tenders and added them to the mixture to make this more of a main dish. I boiled some leftover fresh broccoli instead of the frozen kind, and I used regular white rice with a packet of chicken seasoning. I put a lot more shredded cheese on top, so it took a lot longer than 10 minutes for it to melt and brown, but the result was excellent. Next time I might add onions and mushrooms! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
YUM! What a hit! i took a chance and made this recipie for Thanksgiving this year. Broccoli and Cheese Casserole for 25 people! Thats a lot a broccolli, cheese, and rice! Mu husband previously wouldn't touch broccoli - but now this is all he ever wants me to make as a side to our dinners! it is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
My daughter has been begging me make this. She loved it, Thanks for the recipe! (To all reading-same names-two different members)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
I tried this recipe because I love broccoli and cheese together and thought it sounded good. It was really good, but was missing just a little of something. My mother tasted it...apparetly she used to make something similar) and said that it needed Creme of Mushroom soup. The next time I tried it I put the cream of mushroom soup in as well..it was AWSOME! Thanks so much for bringing this recipe to my attention - I will definitly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Great! I used white rice instead of yellow, adding 1/2 tsp. salt to the boiling water. I let the broccoli thaw on the counter, then drained it. I used Velveeta brand cheese, cut into small pieces. After the rice cooked, I added the cheese to the top of it, covered, and let it sit for 10 minutes so that the cheese would melt. I then added the broccoli, 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/4 tsp. pepper, stirred it all together, and poured into a 3-qt. glass dish. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I used fresh broccoli and brown rice. I also added some shredded cheddar cheese into the mix, and a can of cream of mushroom soup, as other reviewers mentioned. Pretty easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Rather easy but better with real cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe, however, as previous "chefs" had advised, I also used a can of cream of mushroom soup! The taste was great, although it was a bit too sticky. Definitely should have added More water! Made it for my family Christmas dinner & my son ate TWO Huge helpings!! I'll definitely make this again! Very easy too! ;) Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is FABULOUS!!!! I was a little nervous that it would be crunchy without added water or cream of chicken or mushroom, but it was perfect!! I have made it twice. The first time I made it as a side dish exactly as the recipe stated, but I made it again adding carrots, chicken, and onion and used it as a main dish...also GREAT!!! I highly recommend this dish!! Well done!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethStrate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
this was really yummy! i made it last night with our enchiladas and it was great. i just added a small can of cream of mushroom soup and i used velveeta instead of canned cheese. i recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriansWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States