Broccoli and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was an outstanding recipe! I tweaked it a little bit, and I would highly suggest adding these few items for extra flair: --1 slice of pepper jack cheese (for kick) --1 stalk of celery --A couple toes of garlic --1 gold potato, chopped --Parm cheese (just a little bit) --2 slices of crispy bacon chopped fine. I served mine in a bread bowl with sharp cheddar cheese sprinkled on top, and it was absolutely fabulous! (See pic). This will definitely be one of my new staple recipes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This is a delicious, restaurant-quality soup that reminds me of the broccoli-cheddar from my favorite gourmet soup-and-panini shoppe. It is an absolute MUST to use fresh garlic (I used four cloves, minced) and fresh broccoli to get the full flavor this hearty soup deserves. Sharp or extra sharp cheddar is also necessary, don't use regular or mild, you'll get a bland soup more like a cream of broccoli. I would absolutely make this again, it is a wonderful complement to a sandwich or burger. The day I first made it, I had a bowl for lunch and then loved it so much I had it again for dinner! Fairly quick and simple and it freezes well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lazar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Lovely. Choose a flavorful cheese and grate it yourself. Prepackaged shredded cheeses have caking agents that prevent them from melting well. I usually choose an extra sharp and of course FRESH broccoli and FRESH garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pusan, Pusan-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I decided to make this soup in hopes that it would be a great substitute for running to Panera all the time. It was very good. Very cheesy. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This was SO GOOD! The whole family loved it. Easy recipe to follow, great for my first time making broccoli cheese soup! I was happy to find a recipe that called for "real" cheese, as opposed to "processed cheese food". I used unsalted butter, low-salt broth, 1% milk, and fresh broccoli and garlic. After reading some of the reviews, I was afraid of adding the flour/milk together for fear of grittiness. Well I followed the recipe and it worked out so well. It thickened the soup pretty much upon impact (lol). Not gritty at all. It was very creamy and smooth. I think skim milk would work just as well. I actually had to add a bit more milk to thin it out because the flour thickened it so well. Served with fresh bread and it was so delicious. Next time I make this (and there will be a next time) I will double the recipe so we can have more of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was fantastic! My husband and I love Panera's broccoli and cheddar soup and thought this tasted very similar. I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen (boiled for about 7 minutes in the broth), mild cheddar cheese, added more garlic and used black pepper instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSHKARENWOLFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This is a great soup. Very very close to St. Louis Bread co./panera breads recipe. I saw a recipe that was suppose to be their actual recipe, but took much time for a weeknight meal. This one was so simple and yummy!! The only thing I did different was to add a grated carrot with the onions and use minced garlic. I happened to have some leftover heavy cream so I added 1/2 cup along with the 1 cup 2% milk. This soup is still great the next day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This is so delicious! I always make it with fresh cauliflower and extra-sharp Cheddar. Fresh broccoli works really well too - or a combination of the two - and if you like blue cheese, Stilton takes it to a whole new level. This soup never fails to please. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
We tried this soup and it came out great! Tastes just like Panera's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
AMAZING!!! I've been looking for a cream of broccoli soup that I like and I've finally found it! I would definitely recommend using fresh garlic -- I used 2 cloves and it was perfect! I used medium cheddar and it was great!! Definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States