Broccoli and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made this for Dinner, Absolutely delicious! Definitely use fresh garlic and broccoli for a better soup, but if you're in a hurry the frozen broccoli and garlic powder works just fine! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee mae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I loved this recipe, made it several times. A little different each time. I like to add potatoes and ham, it's great! And also some crumbled crispy bacon and parm cheese. Of course since your adding more ingredients you need to add a little more liquid, about 2 cups more chicken stock, 1 cup more milk and almost 1/2 cup flour. Overall really simple, tasty and great the next day! lots of leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
OMG the best broccoli and cheddar soup ever! so delicious... i used fresh garlic was the only change i made but its amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Just fantastic. A yummy, cheesy soup. I'd suggest chopping the frozen broccoli into smaller pieces. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
OMG this is tasty tasty tasty! I added some smoked gouda along with the cheddar and it give it a nice smoky undertone. Mushrooms would be a good addition as well. You could probably add whatever type of cheese along with the cheddar that you wanted; provided it has a strong flavor. I'll also chop the onions up a bit finer next time, but I'm not a huge onion fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I eat Panera's broccoli and cheddar soup a few times a month and this does not match that soup, BUT, it is good. Adding dijon and hot sauce gets the recipe closer to Panera's, but not all the way there. I used 10 oz of cheese instead of the recommended 8 oz and the soup ended up with a flavor that was too cheesy. Stick with the 8 oz that is recommended. I ended up serving my soup as a fondue with sourdough bread and apples and carrots because it was so cheesy. I used extra sharp and agree with earlier recommendation to go with either sharp or a mix of sharp and extra sharp. One note - if serving in crock pot, which I did, after an hour or two the soup starting losing its smooth consistency. So I recommend serving soon after making it. I will try this recipe again and will add dijon/hot sauce again but this time I will follow the 8 oz sharp cheese recommendation and maybe then it will come closer to Panera.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I stuck to the main copycat version of Panera's broccoli and cheese soup. Used 1/2 onion, no garlic powder, used cracked black pepper, used 1/2 pound fresh broccoli, 2 cups broth, 1/4 cup flour, 2 cups fat free half and half. Butter and cheese stayed the same. Before adding cheese I also pureed half broccoli in blender. My whole family agrees this way is 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadieroo83
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Delicious and easy to make. I recommend using white cheddar cheese. The orange stuff gave it an unappeitizing color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
best broccoli and cheddar soup EVER. i used extra sharp cheddar. and i added shredded carrots. use fresh broccoli and garlic. served it with multigrain baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
absolutely wonderful recipe! i made a few of the suggested modifications (added the regular amount of cheese... but also added 4oz shredded mild cheddar and 1/2 a package of cream cheese. Added 1 shredded carrot and 2 very finely chopped red potatoes....) SO wonderful and SO filling! This is definitely a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States