Broccoli and Cheddar Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Doubled this recipe and was a hit! Cut oregano and salt in half and was wonderfully flavorful. Subbed Gouda for Cheddar.Made one with a crust and one without- both good! I felt like they were very 'small servings' both my quiches were only about .75" deep, (they puffed up in oven, then settled much thinner) so next time will triple recipe for two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Made this for the RECIPE GROUP this week. I doubled the broccoli, milk,and mustard and used 7 eggs. Discovered I was out of oregano so used Italian seasoning in its place and omitted the thyme as it is in the Italian seasoning. Added a little chopped onion and minced garlic. Left the cheese amounts the same. It took almost all the mixture to fill the 9" deep pie crust so doubling is definitely necessary. Made a mini crustless quiche with the leftover. The quiche was good but not what you would say mmmm this is really good. Unless I see some new reviews with good suggestions on improving the taste I probably would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Did what previous reviewer suggested and cut the oregano in half. I also added about 2/3 cup of leftover ham that I diced into small cubes. Family loved it, and requested for me to make it again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekennedy4908

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Made this last night for the first time and everyone loved it! I did not use deep dish. I bought the regular refrigerator pie crust. Since there were two pie crust in the box, I went ahead and doubled recipe. If you do not double the recipe you will have the perfect amount for one regular pie crust. I followed the ingredients exactly as given, except I did not have oregano or thyme. I used italian seasoning instead. The quiche came out perfect and the taste was exactly what we were hoping for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This recipe has potential, but the oregano was WAY overpowering. Next time will cut the oregano in half and maybe add some bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I wanted to like this but did not. Made for recipe group. Since it was my first time making it, and for the group, I tried to follow nearly exactly, which I did. The only change was I only used 1/2 the Oregano and a bit more cheddar cheese. The crust did not get browned at all at 350 for 8 minutes when brushed with oil. Had to pre-cook it much longer. Probably needed a higher temp. Used fresh broccoli that I pulsed in food processor until very fine. The filling did not fill my crust very high. In my opinion needed onion and more milk. When I make quiche it usually has a higher ratio of milk to eggs to make more of a custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Added 1 extra egg, feta cheese, mozzarella cheese, and minced dried onions, decreased parmesan cheese and pretty much rough measured everything til it looked good. Every one loved it! I used store bought refrigerated pie crust (no oil) and convection baked it in a ceramic quiche dish...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aprilnme
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This is very easy and doesn't take as long to cook like other quiches I've made. I made two regular pie size ones because I had them in the freezer already. I just added another half of recipe ingredients. I used frozen steamer bag of broccoli crowns chopped and cooled slightly. I didn't change any of the directions. It cooked in 40 min exactly. I did precious the crust as directed. I may change up ingredients next time just to have a different version. Anyone can do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I love this recipe and have made it many times. I love to make this for guests for breakfast and they rave over it. I followed other reviewers suggestions for changes. The changes make it a five star in my opinion. The changes I made were adding about 2/3 cup or more chopped ham, reducing the oregano to 1/2 tsp and I've added gouda cheese sometimes too. Fresh grated Parmesan cheese is so much better in this recipe also. It won't disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spanish Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 10, August 2013 ~ Had this for dinner tonight with ham slices. Everyone really enjoyed this. I prepared in a regular size pie pan rather than a deep dish. I would not have had enough filling for a deep dish. I also used fresh oregano in place of the dried, pepper jack in place of the Cheddar and only used ¼ tsp. of thyme. It did take longer than 40 minutes to bake. Mine took about 50 minutes. This baked up and set up nicely. The quiche cut and served great too. All in all, this is a good quiche and I will make it again – next time I think I will add some diced onions and fresh tomatoes to the broccoli mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Quiche

You won’t believe how easy, and delicious, this vegetarian quiche is.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States