Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I tried this for Thanksgiving and it was everyones favorite side dish! I did follow the advice of some of the other reviews and cut the butter to 1 stick and cut the amount of cheese in half. It was so good!! I made this a day in advance and topped with crackers just before baking. So easy and delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This recipe essentially inspired me to create my own twist/version, as it seems most reviewers do. To make a healthier version, I used the following substitutions: 1) 1/2 cup Japonica rice & 1/2 cup brown rice (cooking times vary...I cooked 30 min stovetop) 2) 1/4 cup butter & 1/4 cup olive oil 3) 4 oz. cheese food & 1/4 cup shredded cheddar 4) 10 oz. vegetable stock (vs. condensed soup) 5) 5 oz. rice milk 6) 1 cup crushed wheat crackers While this version will produce a somewhat different flavor (less sodium & fat), it is very similar, and was still a "hit" by those who like broccoli casserole. Makes good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Loved it! Thanks so much for sharing and for all of your reader suggestions as well. I used 1 cup of wild multi-grain rice, two heaping tablespoons of minced garlic, and about 1 cup of finely shredded carrots, plus one cup of shredded and chopped purple cabbage. Additionally, I used 1/2 cup of sharp cheddar cheese instead of velveeta, plus about 8 string cheese sticks that needed to be used before they expired. Since I didn't have round buttery crackers I used saltines. The wild rice gave it a nuttiness and the cabbage gave it a nice crunch. It truly hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Used quinoa instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Everyone liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Very good and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Bonita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My 2 year old loves it! Not really to my taste- too much velveeta, but it's a great way to get a skinny 2 year old to eat some veggies and fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made this with quinoa instead of rice. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I made this recipe just as it is and my husband and I loved it! I used real Butter and Whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
very good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Elloree, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States