Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Perfect! I used fresh cauliflower and broccoli and also used freshly grated sharp cheddar cheese and 4 oz. of cream cheese instead of the processed stuff. Just fabulous! Next time I might try it with some leftover cubed ham :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle P
Home Town: East Otto, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Thought it was pretty good but I made some changes Used real cheese about a cup added chicken and used brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capariel Cass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I made this recipe just as it specified and I have to say that though the flavor is good if not a little over-powering with the onion, it came out a little wetter than I would have liked. I couldn't believe the amount of butter or cheese it called for, but I don't like to rate a recipe after I've made adjustments to it. If I make this again, I will definitely make some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Had to make some modifications, but it was fantastic! Twice as much rice, and a 1/2 pound of mozarella instead of the processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Exactly that...it was ok...used real cheese instead of processed. Not a crowd favorite, a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I liked this recipe, though I changed a *bunch* of stuff for my preferences. First, I used frozen cauliflower and broccoli, which I steamed for almost 10 minutes before adding to the casserole. Next time I will use fresh veggies and steam them a little longer because the texture was kind of tough. I omitted the onions because I just don't like them, so there was no need for the butter. I substituted 1-2 cups of shredded carrots for the rice to increase the veggie content and that worked (plus it added a nice pop of color). I used cream of mushroom soup because I had it on hand and about 2/3 a pound of extra sharp cheddar cheese. I melted the cheese with the soup and milk before adding the veggies since the cheddar cubes needed a little more time to integrate into the sauce. After baking for 30 minutes the flavor was good, but the sauce was runny and the veggies were still too crisp. So I baked it for another hour in 20 minute increments. It ended up being ok that night, but the next day it was awesome. The leftover factor took it from 3 stars to 4. If I can work out the kinks (thicken the sauce, soften the veggies), I might get mine up to 5 star status.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very good, but very rich. I would decrease the cheese by 1/3 and double rice to 1 Cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Ulla, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I loved this recipe! I didn't cook the veggies first, and I added a bit more rice. It was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I had a couple of bags of chopped broccoli and cauliflower to use up, so I thought I'd make this on a cold winter day! I made a few changes, and it was delicious. I sauteed the onions and some garlic in a tablespoon of butter while the rice cooked. I then added the milk, a few cups. I didn't have any soup around, so I added a slab of cream cheese and a can of diced chicken. Instead of processed cheese (ewww...do people actually eat that junk?) I added some shredded cheddar cheese, as others did. Without pre-cooking the broccoli and cauliflower I just added them raw to the bubbling milk sauce, simmered it for awhile, added the rice, and let it thicken a little bit! After pouring it in the baking dish, I topped it with some crushed crackers (9 grain from costco) and some more shredded cheese, and it baked perfectly, creamy and flavorful! I think other veggies would be delicious as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JsS
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Loved it! The only recommendation is to bake it as soon as your ready to eat. If you know you will have left overs add a bit of more milk b4 reheating it so you can have that same warm creamy and cheesy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States