Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Had to make some modifications, but it was fantastic! Twice as much rice, and a 1/2 pound of mozarella instead of the processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
First off I have to say this. Why do most of you make your own version of recipes on this site then rate the recipe down because your version did not work out? This is not what a review is. A review, for those of you that do NOT know, is actually trying the recipe as written and then you rate it as to what you thought of it. Not YOUR modified version. Feel free to modify the recipe AFTER you have tried the original version and rated it. Then you can share your modified version with us and we can rate that one. That is how it works. I tried this recipe as it was written and it was fantastic! I have added it to one of our favorite veggie casseroles. Thank you, BRIDG, for submitting this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Exactly that...it was ok...used real cheese instead of processed. Not a crowd favorite, a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I liked this recipe, though I changed a *bunch* of stuff for my preferences. First, I used frozen cauliflower and broccoli, which I steamed for almost 10 minutes before adding to the casserole. Next time I will use fresh veggies and steam them a little longer because the texture was kind of tough. I omitted the onions because I just don't like them, so there was no need for the butter. I substituted 1-2 cups of shredded carrots for the rice to increase the veggie content and that worked (plus it added a nice pop of color). I used cream of mushroom soup because I had it on hand and about 2/3 a pound of extra sharp cheddar cheese. I melted the cheese with the soup and milk before adding the veggies since the cheddar cubes needed a little more time to integrate into the sauce. After baking for 30 minutes the flavor was good, but the sauce was runny and the veggies were still too crisp. So I baked it for another hour in 20 minute increments. It ended up being ok that night, but the next day it was awesome. The leftover factor took it from 3 stars to 4. If I can work out the kinks (thicken the sauce, soften the veggies), I might get mine up to 5 star status.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very good, but very rich. I would decrease the cheese by 1/3 and double rice to 1 Cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Ulla, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I loved this recipe! I didn't cook the veggies first, and I added a bit more rice. It was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I had a couple of bags of chopped broccoli and cauliflower to use up, so I thought I'd make this on a cold winter day! I made a few changes, and it was delicious. I sauteed the onions and some garlic in a tablespoon of butter while the rice cooked. I then added the milk, a few cups. I didn't have any soup around, so I added a slab of cream cheese and a can of diced chicken. Instead of processed cheese (ewww...do people actually eat that junk?) I added some shredded cheddar cheese, as others did. Without pre-cooking the broccoli and cauliflower I just added them raw to the bubbling milk sauce, simmered it for awhile, added the rice, and let it thicken a little bit! After pouring it in the baking dish, I topped it with some crushed crackers (9 grain from costco) and some more shredded cheese, and it baked perfectly, creamy and flavorful! I think other veggies would be delicious as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JsS
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Loved it! The only recommendation is to bake it as soon as your ready to eat. If you know you will have left overs add a bit of more milk b4 reheating it so you can have that same warm creamy and cheesy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I like it after I doubled the broccoli and rice, used less butter, used a can of cream of cheddar cheese soup instead of chicken and just a smattering of grated parmesan cheese. Then topped with the crushed crackers mixed with 1/4 cup melted butter. I added fresh ground pepper to bring out flavor's and a shake of salt and ground garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Good base recipe. I'm no cook but I tried this and made a few changes. I didn't measure anything. I used quinoa instead of rice, fresh veggies, about 1 heaping tbs butter, fz onions, shredded cheddar cheese, cream of mushroom and almond milk. Turned out very tasty and was all ate up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States