Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Perfect! I used fresh cauliflower and broccoli and also used freshly grated sharp cheddar cheese and 4 oz. of cream cheese instead of the processed stuff. Just fabulous! Next time I might try it with some leftover cubed ham :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle P
Home Town: East Otto, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Thought it was pretty good but I made some changes Used real cheese about a cup added chicken and used brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capariel Cass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I made this recipe just as it specified and I have to say that though the flavor is good if not a little over-powering with the onion, it came out a little wetter than I would have liked. I couldn't believe the amount of butter or cheese it called for, but I don't like to rate a recipe after I've made adjustments to it. If I make this again, I will definitely make some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Had to make some modifications, but it was fantastic! Twice as much rice, and a 1/2 pound of mozarella instead of the processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Exactly that...it was ok...used real cheese instead of processed. Not a crowd favorite, a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I liked this recipe, though I changed a *bunch* of stuff for my preferences. First, I used frozen cauliflower and broccoli, which I steamed for almost 10 minutes before adding to the casserole. Next time I will use fresh veggies and steam them a little longer because the texture was kind of tough. I omitted the onions because I just don't like them, so there was no need for the butter. I substituted 1-2 cups of shredded carrots for the rice to increase the veggie content and that worked (plus it added a nice pop of color). I used cream of mushroom soup because I had it on hand and about 2/3 a pound of extra sharp cheddar cheese. I melted the cheese with the soup and milk before adding the veggies since the cheddar cubes needed a little more time to integrate into the sauce. After baking for 30 minutes the flavor was good, but the sauce was runny and the veggies were still too crisp. So I baked it for another hour in 20 minute increments. It ended up being ok that night, but the next day it was awesome. The leftover factor took it from 3 stars to 4. If I can work out the kinks (thicken the sauce, soften the veggies), I might get mine up to 5 star status.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very good, but very rich. I would decrease the cheese by 1/3 and double rice to 1 Cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Ulla, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I loved this recipe! I didn't cook the veggies first, and I added a bit more rice. It was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I had a couple of bags of chopped broccoli and cauliflower to use up, so I thought I'd make this on a cold winter day! I made a few changes, and it was delicious. I sauteed the onions and some garlic in a tablespoon of butter while the rice cooked. I then added the milk, a few cups. I didn't have any soup around, so I added a slab of cream cheese and a can of diced chicken. Instead of processed cheese (ewww...do people actually eat that junk?) I added some shredded cheddar cheese, as others did. Without pre-cooking the broccoli and cauliflower I just added them raw to the bubbling milk sauce, simmered it for awhile, added the rice, and let it thicken a little bit! After pouring it in the baking dish, I topped it with some crushed crackers (9 grain from costco) and some more shredded cheese, and it baked perfectly, creamy and flavorful! I think other veggies would be delicious as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JsS
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Loved it! The only recommendation is to bake it as soon as your ready to eat. If you know you will have left overs add a bit of more milk b4 reheating it so you can have that same warm creamy and cheesy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States