Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
may seem a little complicated but its not, its actually very easy to make. And my I add very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This is a very buttery French bread. Made plain it's not that good, it needs to go with something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshMiller1017
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Amazing!!! Made this by hand... easy but time consuming. Will definitely start first thing in the morning next time lol. Mine came out perfectly golden brown, slightly crispy on the outside, moist inside. Delicious with blueberry preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is really good. I was sure I messed up somewhere when I did the butter part but it came out really yummy. I used this to make Gil's Brioche French toast (AR). Thanks for the recipe I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was an outstanding bread. It was soft and buttery, with a just-shy-of-firm crust. I substituted bread flour to get a firmer dough. I kneaded it with a stand mixer equipped with a dough hook, which took most of the work out of it, and also resulted in a nicely spongy, tight crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
A great recipe with excellent end results. I did this by hand and it went fine but will definitely use a bread dough hook with my mixer next time! I used Gil's French Toast with the brioche the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This bread was AMAZING!!!!!! So buttery and almost flaky inside, and an almost crisp outside, I made one loaf braided and the other plain, and can't wait to make French Toast with it tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This recipe is very forgiving due to the high butter content. The final product is bland, especially if you use unsalted butter. Increasing the amount for water will produce a slightly lighter loaf. Not as good as Challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Perfect. Absolutely perfect. Having never made a brioche I followed the recipe exactly. Adding the cup of butter was disconcerting but I persevered and the result was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Used a Kitchen Aid so I skipped the 6 hours-overnight chilling. Never had brioche so I am relying on my sister's opinion that it was good. For those who may not know, like me, divided into 2 loaves is equivalent to making cornbread height (2-3"). I actually needed this for a French toast recipe so next time I'll try just 1 loaf. As for taste, it had a nice crumbly exterior and a dry flaky texture inside. It's perfect for French toast if left out overnight to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States