Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Like a couple of the other reviewers, I thought I'd done something wrong when I got to the butter addition. The dough broke apart and didn't incorporate the butter as easily as I wanted it to but I got it done. I have not baked this bread recipe as is, instead I used the dough to make cinnamon rolls. They were the best I've ever had! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Turned out well, a little bit bland, but good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Kao

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Used a Kitchen Aid so I skipped the 6 hours-overnight chilling. Never had brioche so I am relying on my sister's opinion that it was good. For those who may not know, like me, divided into 2 loaves is equivalent to making cornbread height (2-3"). I actually needed this for a French toast recipe so next time I'll try just 1 loaf. As for taste, it had a nice crumbly exterior and a dry flaky texture inside. It's perfect for French toast if left out overnight to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This recipe is actually really simple. I made two loaves. The part that made me most iffy was kneading the soft butter into the dough. It was really slimy, and this being my first time making brioche, I worried that I was doing something wrong, but it came out fine! In fear of having plain bread as mentioned in other reviews, I added about 1/4 cup more of butter, and the bread is definitely delicious by itself. The bread is really soft on the inside with a slight crunchy exterior. I'll use it for French toast as well as eat it by itself or with butter. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mridu Bhattacharya
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Made three batches, one was plain, one with choco chips and one with fruit jam as topping. All were perfect. Had little trouble with making exact brioche shape, so we made a little dent on top to fill in the toppings. Served it with home made lemon jelly, everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mridu Bhattacharya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patna, Bihar, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
perfect texture, not much taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This recipe is very forgiving due to the high butter content. The final product is bland, especially if you use unsalted butter. Increasing the amount for water will produce a slightly lighter loaf. Not as good as Challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made this with my Kitchen Aid and it came out looking great. It tasted just okay. I think it's just the type of bread though (I've never had brioche before this). I used it to make French toast which was also just okay. By itself or with butter it's boring, as another reviewer mentioned. It might be good with some homemade jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Perfect. Absolutely perfect. Having never made a brioche I followed the recipe exactly. Adding the cup of butter was disconcerting but I persevered and the result was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshMiller1017
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Amazing!!! Made this by hand... easy but time consuming. Will definitely start first thing in the morning next time lol. Mine came out perfectly golden brown, slightly crispy on the outside, moist inside. Delicious with blueberry preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States