Brilliant Sauteed Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter, except for using only half the red pepper flakes. I served it at a family gathering, and a couple of us liked it fine, but most thought it was too spicy. Most people in our family don’t like any spice at all, so I guess that was to be expected! The main thing I’m taking away from this recipe is the cooking method. The broccoli was very pretty and cooked fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Made this for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it! Even my 2 broccoli hating teenage sons said it was pretty good. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I have avoided broccoli my entire life. I cannot stand it when its cooked until limp, and I do not like it uncooked because of the texture of the leaves. I was making this for my hubby and for some reason I decided to try it. I am 29 years old and just figured out I DO like broccoli. Thank you so much for this simple but delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEllison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hinton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This is my new favorite broccoli recipe! I add chopped onion (red or white, both great) before adding broccoli. The spicy/sweet combo works so well, while the parmesan adds a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
easy! everyone in the family loved this. I too sauteed the vegies witht he spices then added the cheese mixture. Worked perfectly. Nice change of pace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I loved this! I didn't shock the broccoli because I was just cooking for myself so I just sauteed the broccoli in the oil. I also threw in some mushrooms I had on hand. I didn't have any parmesan cheese but it was fantastic even without it! But cheese can only make it better. I just dusted the veggies with the brown sugar when they were done cooking- AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This recipe easily gets 5 stars as written (it's very frustrating when people make a bunch of changes and give a recipe 5 stars). This was very easy and delicious. I would not be disappointed if I ordered it in a restaurant. The brown sugar and red pepper flakes were a fantastic balance of sweet and spicy. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very good! Replaced red pepper flakes with Italian seasoning because it's what I had on hand! The only problem I had was that some of the Parmesan cheese melted together and made big clumps...any suggestions on how to fix that? The taste was excellent and not sweet at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
delicious! sweet with a slightly spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Greenwood Village, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This recipe's prep-instructions are the star! I usually just zap my brocc w/ a lemon wedge and butter in the microwave, but this method produced restaurant quality texture and color -- really, these WERE Brilliant Broccoli! My husband and I gushed (in b/t mouthfuls) over the bright green hue and the crunch that the broccoli retained, even after we sauteed longer than the 1-2 min. the recipe called for. Only difference was that I shook on powdered Parm (I know, I know, it's no sub for grated fresh, but it's all I had!) and scaled the red pepper back. It still had quite a kick to it, so my toddler made a face when she put a "tree" in her mouth. I served this broccoli w/ 2 recipes from here as well, which complimented it well -- "Algerian Carrots" and "Roasted Pork Chops with Tomatoes, Mushrooms, and Garlic Sauce." Thanks for a great recipe, Doppio!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States