Brilliant Sauteed Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Made this last night and it was fantastic! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I wanted to keep it vegan (parve) so i substituted Parmesan cheese with garlic powder. I also followed other reviews and did not blanch it, i put the raw broccoli straight into the saute pan and left it covered for a few minutes. i wanted to give it a 4 on flavor, it was good, not amazing. the extra star is for how easy and simple this recipe is. will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Yum! Great, easy method that I'll be sure to remember and use in the future. Instead of olive oil, I used butter. Also, just eyeballed the ingredients. The brown sugar added a nice, subtle sweetness...Tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Great recipe! I really enjoyed the flavor combination of the red pepper flakes, parmesean cheese, and brown sugar. Makes for a very delicious side dish, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ceres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. We were so so tired of the same old steamed broccoli so I tried cooking it this way. We love it. The red pepper flakes against the brown sugar is a great combination. I have toddlers, so I left the red pepper out of theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
In both preparation and taste this couldn't have been better. The cooking technique was just what I needed for an uncertain supper time and, since Hubs detests overcooked vegetables, it ensured that wouldn't be an issue. I blanched the broccoli ahead of time and when I knew Hubs would be ready to eat it was no big deal to quickly do the last minute sauteeing. Don't hesitate to use the brown sugar - it's not enough to taste any sweetness, but just enough to eliminate any possibility of broccoli bitterness. And in my (Italian) book, anything that calls for fresh Parmesan cheese is always a plus. Flawless recipe, and certainly one to keep in the reference file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Used frozen broccoli in the microwave then continued with steps 2-3. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: North Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was a wonderfully easy and healthy recipe! I made the recipe as written, but proportioned down for 2 people. The broccoli was indeed brilliant green and crisp-tender. I was concerned about the brown sugar, but it was barely noticeable, perhaps because of the very small amount in the scaled down version. I have since used this method of cooking the broccoli for other recipes, including salads and just plain broccoli with a little squirt of lemon as a side dish. It really makes a beautiful presentation on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Excellent! I had wanted to try this cooking method & it is wonderful! I added a splash of lemon juice instead of salt. The red pepper flakes really make this dish-Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This just did not do it for us. Wanted to like it, especially with the brown sugar factor, but my kids did not care for it. On the other hand, they do like to eat assorted roasted veggies including brocolli, guess I'll continue to go that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLYJO definitely not a pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States