Brilliant Sauteed Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This has to be the best broccoli recipe ever!!! My family has been suffering with my generic broccoli prep and I was always throwing out broccoli. But no more!! This is the only recipe I will ever use again - even my husband who gags at the slightest parmesan flavor loved this and wants me to use this recipe again - go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Made this last night and it was fantastic! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I wanted to keep it vegan (parve) so i substituted Parmesan cheese with garlic powder. I also followed other reviews and did not blanch it, i put the raw broccoli straight into the saute pan and left it covered for a few minutes. i wanted to give it a 4 on flavor, it was good, not amazing. the extra star is for how easy and simple this recipe is. will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Yum! Great, easy method that I'll be sure to remember and use in the future. Instead of olive oil, I used butter. Also, just eyeballed the ingredients. The brown sugar added a nice, subtle sweetness...Tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Great recipe! I really enjoyed the flavor combination of the red pepper flakes, parmesean cheese, and brown sugar. Makes for a very delicious side dish, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ceres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. We were so so tired of the same old steamed broccoli so I tried cooking it this way. We love it. The red pepper flakes against the brown sugar is a great combination. I have toddlers, so I left the red pepper out of theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
In both preparation and taste this couldn't have been better. The cooking technique was just what I needed for an uncertain supper time and, since Hubs detests overcooked vegetables, it ensured that wouldn't be an issue. I blanched the broccoli ahead of time and when I knew Hubs would be ready to eat it was no big deal to quickly do the last minute sauteeing. Don't hesitate to use the brown sugar - it's not enough to taste any sweetness, but just enough to eliminate any possibility of broccoli bitterness. And in my (Italian) book, anything that calls for fresh Parmesan cheese is always a plus. Flawless recipe, and certainly one to keep in the reference file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Used frozen broccoli in the microwave then continued with steps 2-3. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: North Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was a wonderfully easy and healthy recipe! I made the recipe as written, but proportioned down for 2 people. The broccoli was indeed brilliant green and crisp-tender. I was concerned about the brown sugar, but it was barely noticeable, perhaps because of the very small amount in the scaled down version. I have since used this method of cooking the broccoli for other recipes, including salads and just plain broccoli with a little squirt of lemon as a side dish. It really makes a beautiful presentation on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Excellent! I had wanted to try this cooking method & it is wonderful! I added a splash of lemon juice instead of salt. The red pepper flakes really make this dish-Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States