Brigid's Blackberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I had a deep dish pie crust, so I added an extra cup of blackberries. I also made this with the addition of 2 tbs of cornstarch after reading some of the reviews, and I baked it for an hour at 375. the pie baked up fine, but I noticed that there were some areas where the sugar mixture hadn't melted into the juice. I suspect this was because of too much cornstarch. I also thought it was way too sweet. I think if I make this again, I'm going to cut the sugar back to 1 cup and cut out the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This recipe was bomb! The only I think I would change it to let the pie cook and hour and thirty minutes. All purpose is the best flour because it makes the crust flaky, I tried white/wheat flour and it just didn't compare. And pick the blackberries either the day before or day of, it makes it a lot more fresh. I cooked pies for this ministry I am involved with and everyone loved it and my dad, which takes is great if he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Tonight's guest list got out of hand for a backyard barbecue. To stretch the menu further than I had originally planned, I decided to throw some pies in the oven while everyone was outside visiting before we started grilling. I didn't have time to fool with a finicky recipe and decided to have my kitchen helper search for a simple blackberry pie recipe. I made my own crusts and omitted the salt because my butter was salted. I used frozen berries because it was what I had on hand. I questioned him twice on the amount of sugar and flour, and then had to verify with my own eyes. I followed the the recipe, and in the end, tossed the berries in the mixture, then filled my pie crust with the coated berries. I did not use any additional sugar mixture because #1, it would not have fit in the pie pan, and #2, I felt it would be too much filler ( I actually used the mix for 18 mini pies. Way too much). The pie smelled amazing. And out of three pies that I made, this was the only one that was cut into straight out of the oven! It had not set up yet and the aroma of the berries tumbling out of the area where that slice had been filled my house and brought others into the kitchen. It was gone before it could cool down, but my son did show me evidence that it would have set just fine when I witnessed him using a bowl scraper to get every last bit of blackberry out of the pan. This is an amazing, simple recipe. Berries can be a lot of work. Trust your judgment and adjust accordingly. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Sugar City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This is way too sweet. The filling is all sugar and you cannot even taste the flavor of the blackberries. The consistency is good but cut down the sugar and add some seasonings that enhance the berries, like lemon or cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Delicious but next time I'm going tony use 1/2 the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
LOVED this pie. Versatile to be used with any fruit. FYI...ALWAYS use fresh fruit in pies to prevent "runny" pies. I did cut the amount of sugar in half, added 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and 1 tsp. cinnamon. Brushed on some egg white to the bottom before loading in the fruit and brushed the top of the pie and sprinkled it with white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Made just as written, it always come out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
You can't go wrong with a basic ,old-fashion recipe. The only suggestion I would add is to brush either beaten egg, or cream on top of the pie before placing it in the oven. It will guarantee a beautiful golden brown crust with a bit of sheen. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I added 1 c. chopped rhubarb (instead of cutting down on sugar). Used a crumb topping instead of top crust. Fabulous! Not runny like blackberry pies sometimes are; perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Boynton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States