Bright Blue Monday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is cake is delicious! The ingredients are simple, directions are easy, and the cake is delicious. Light, fluffy and not too sweet. I added the vanilla as another suggested, but it's probably good without. Great find! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewlywedinWisconsin
Home Town: Knightstown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dunbar, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I thought the cake was a little dry. Any suggestions? I would like to make this again, I love fresh blueberries! The topping is good and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I usually don't change the recipe on the first try, but broke my own rule here. I added 1 tsp. vanilla to the batter because others had recommended that change. The change I should not have made was I doubled the recipe and then baked in a 10" tube pan. I had to bake for 1/2 hour longer than recommended in the recipe. Once cooled though, I could not remove from the pan without it breaking apart, so I just cut pieces off as we ate it and then today took it completely out of the pan. The cake itself tasted great. I won't bake it in that type of pan again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Pretty good! I really love the crispy, sugary topping. In fact, I ate most of that off the top of the cake, hope family doesn't notice it is missing something on top...but seriously, this is perfect with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is a great brunch cake for any day of the week. It's moist, delicious, bursting with blueberries and topped with a crisp buttery streusel. I followed the recipe exactly and added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. I baked it in an 8x8 pan and was very pleasantly suprised with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Great recipe. Two cups of blueberries is a tad much though. I was a fan, but my dad said he wanted more "cake." I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk. Baked in a 8 by 8 pan, perfect size. Used butter and brown sugar for topping. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Very moist cake but it was missing something. Next time I'll add a splash of vanilla, as Naples suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This recipe is excellent! I made them into muffins instead of a cake. Just filled 12 muffin cups and baked for 30 min. My husband who usually doesn't like muffins loved these! I was tempted not to put so many blueberries in because it seemed like a lot, but added them all anyways. I am glad I did... so delicious! And, the topping is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
As I write this review, this recipe has only a few people who have reviewed it and an average rating of just four stars--what a shame. I hope more bakers give this recipe a chance and bring that rating up to five stars where it belongs! I added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to the batter and substituted butter for the margarine called for in the streusel, keeping all else the same. I kind of had the feeling when I saw the ingredients called for vegetable oil (rather than butter or even shortening) that this would be moist and that's exactly what this is--moist, flavorful, and bursting with blueberry flavor. The topping amount is just right, with a pleasing buttery crunch. I have made several of these coffeecakes or "buckles," over the years, one in particular that has been my favorite for over 40 years. But as good as that recipe is, THIS recipe beats it hands down for moistness. In fact, I think this is the finest recipe of it's kind I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Delicious!! And so simple. I made it in an 8x8 pan, and baked it for 45 - 50 mins total. It was perfect! Light, fluffy, delish. My boyfriend is not a dessert fan, but he ate 2 pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States