Bright Blue Monday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I just made this and amazing can't wait to make it again with blue berry's. I did have to make one change as the frozen blueberry were freezer burnt so I had to use frozen Raspberry. WOW. 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Moist and yummy!! I used butter instead of margarine in the topping, added the zest of one lemon and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla to the batter, and baked it in a 7 X 9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This recipe makes a very good coffeecake, but a little vanilla and more salt would boost the flavor. The only ingredient change I made was to use butter instead of margarine. I also used frozen blueberries so the coffeecake needed to bake 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I made this a week ago for the first time and everyone LOVED it! The only change was that I added 1 tsp. vanilla. The topping had a strong cinnamon flavor which I liked but others may want to decrease it a little. I am making it again this week to take to a friends house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe is absolutely awesome as is. I doubled the recipe and baked in a 9x13 pan for about 40 minutes. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Well I'm not sure what to think just yet. I followed the recipe with no changes for the first time. It is moist. It could definitely use some vanilla. It's not bad, I'm just not finding it up to par for a coffee cake. Something is missing. I will make this one again and play a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
How can you not love the name of this cake? With a newly purchased 4 pound bag of blueberries tucked in my freezer and my 2 grandkids scheduled for an overnight with us, I was on the prowl for a yummy breakfast treat. I made this, pretty much according to directions, and half a cake later we all declared this a winner. It was moist, flavorful, and had just the right amount of blueberries. I added vanilla to the batter and substituted butter for margarine in the crumb topping as suggested by Naples. I also used brown sugar instead of white in the topping. It was delish; however, next time I'll probably stick with the granulated sugar and try a little nutmeg instead of cinnamon. I have a treasured blueberry muffin recipe that calls for a dusting of sugar and nutmeg and we really love that flavor combination. For those who had issues with this being too dry or needing extra baking time, some things to check are pan size, oven thermostat, and your pan material. Some pan coatings require lowering your oven temperature by 25 degrees. EDIT: Another thing to note: if you like this cake, another you will probably enjoy from Allrecipes is Dried Cherry Cake. It's equally awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I love this cake. I've made it 5 times or so, and it's turned out fantastic everytime. I've used both frozen and fresh blueberries, and it is flavorful and moist both ways. My family and co-workers all love it, and I get asked for the recipe every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe is fantastic!! I only alternate the margarine with unsalted butter, and it turned out great, too. The cake is very moist, and the topper is crispy. The only little problem is that I can't bake the top evenly crisp. The center is already crisp while the side is still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by u1117054

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
While the cake is wonderful the timing was a bit off. It says bake for 30 to 40 minutes. When I baked it (yes I let the over preheat) it took 55 minutes. I would give it 4 and 3/4 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddvl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States