Bright Blue Monday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I just made this and had one piece hot out of the oven. The blueberries smelled so good I couldn't resist. As soon as that piece was gone I went for another! I made it exactly as directed except I used butter instead of oil in the batter and butter instead of margarine in the topping. Usually I add more fruit than called for in recipes but 2 cups was the perfect amount in this case and the amount of topping was generous also. It was soft and very flavorful. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious ...yummy...great for my daughters play group. Perfect just needs a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
So, with all the berries I have, I doubled this using a 9.5 x 13.5. The cup each, doubled amount, seemed too much for the topping; but I'd already started to went with it - except only used 1t cinnamon. 'Still cooling. 'Smells great. So much topping though, you can't tell it's blueberry. Used frozen berries & it was done in an hour. Taste: Good, not very good or better - only because I'm comparing it to Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake by BATA, which is awesome. 'Not sure if it's needing some butter (for flavor) or more sugar in the batter. Some of that topping sugar should go in it I think. It's light & good, but kinda eh. 'Doesn't wow ya into getting a second piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This is a GREAT recipe! I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan and it just barely fit! I added a splash of vanilla to the batter and used half brown and half white sugar for the crumb topping but otherwise followed the recipe as written. This will be my go to recipe for blueberry coffee cake. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I just made this and amazing can't wait to make it again with blue berry's. I did have to make one change as the frozen blueberry were freezer burnt so I had to use frozen Raspberry. WOW. 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Moist and yummy!! I used butter instead of margarine in the topping, added the zest of one lemon and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla to the batter, and baked it in a 7 X 9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This recipe makes a very good coffeecake, but a little vanilla and more salt would boost the flavor. The only ingredient change I made was to use butter instead of margarine. I also used frozen blueberries so the coffeecake needed to bake 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I made this a week ago for the first time and everyone LOVED it! The only change was that I added 1 tsp. vanilla. The topping had a strong cinnamon flavor which I liked but others may want to decrease it a little. I am making it again this week to take to a friends house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe is absolutely awesome as is. I doubled the recipe and baked in a 9x13 pan for about 40 minutes. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Well I'm not sure what to think just yet. I followed the recipe with no changes for the first time. It is moist. It could definitely use some vanilla. It's not bad, I'm just not finding it up to par for a coffee cake. Something is missing. I will make this one again and play a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States