Bright Blue Monday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
How can you not love the name of this cake? With a newly purchased 4 pound bag of blueberries tucked in my freezer and my 2 grandkids scheduled for an overnight with us, I was on the prowl for a yummy breakfast treat. I made this, pretty much according to directions, and half a cake later we all declared this a winner. It was moist, flavorful, and had just the right amount of blueberries. I added vanilla to the batter and substituted butter for margarine in the crumb topping as suggested by Naples. I also used brown sugar instead of white in the topping. It was delish; however, next time I'll probably stick with the granulated sugar and try a little nutmeg instead of cinnamon. I have a treasured blueberry muffin recipe that calls for a dusting of sugar and nutmeg and we really love that flavor combination. For those who had issues with this being too dry or needing extra baking time, some things to check are pan size, oven thermostat, and your pan material. Some pan coatings require lowering your oven temperature by 25 degrees. EDIT: Another thing to note: if you like this cake, another you will probably enjoy from Allrecipes is Dried Cherry Cake. It's equally awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I love this cake. I've made it 5 times or so, and it's turned out fantastic everytime. I've used both frozen and fresh blueberries, and it is flavorful and moist both ways. My family and co-workers all love it, and I get asked for the recipe every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe is fantastic!! I only alternate the margarine with unsalted butter, and it turned out great, too. The cake is very moist, and the topper is crispy. The only little problem is that I can't bake the top evenly crisp. The center is already crisp while the side is still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by u1117054

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
While the cake is wonderful the timing was a bit off. It says bake for 30 to 40 minutes. When I baked it (yes I let the over preheat) it took 55 minutes. I would give it 4 and 3/4 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddvl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Very tasty cake although a bit dry. I used 2/3 Splenda, 1/3 sugar plus the recommended 1/2 t. vanilla. I would suggest adding 1/2 c more blueberries and serving warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is cake is delicious! The ingredients are simple, directions are easy, and the cake is delicious. Light, fluffy and not too sweet. I added the vanilla as another suggested, but it's probably good without. Great find! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewlywedinWisconsin
Home Town: Knightstown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dunbar, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I thought the cake was a little dry. Any suggestions? I would like to make this again, I love fresh blueberries! The topping is good and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I usually don't change the recipe on the first try, but broke my own rule here. I added 1 tsp. vanilla to the batter because others had recommended that change. The change I should not have made was I doubled the recipe and then baked in a 10" tube pan. I had to bake for 1/2 hour longer than recommended in the recipe. Once cooled though, I could not remove from the pan without it breaking apart, so I just cut pieces off as we ate it and then today took it completely out of the pan. The cake itself tasted great. I won't bake it in that type of pan again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Pretty good! I really love the crispy, sugary topping. In fact, I ate most of that off the top of the cake, hope family doesn't notice it is missing something on top...but seriously, this is perfect with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is a great brunch cake for any day of the week. It's moist, delicious, bursting with blueberries and topped with a crisp buttery streusel. I followed the recipe exactly and added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. I baked it in an 8x8 pan and was very pleasantly suprised with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States