Bright and Zesty Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Surprisingly delicious! Made it exactly as written. I thought that amount of red pepper flakes might made it too spicy for me, but not so. Definately a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very nice change from regular 'ol broccoli! I wasn't sure about the flavor combinaton, but the orange did add a nice citrus flavor that did "brighten" it up a bit. To simply things, I used a steam in bag of broccoli and added the rest of the ingredients, tossing to coat. Overall, different but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
It took me a long time to get around to making this because the orange juice scared me off. Now I know why. Neither of us cared for this, even though I played it on the safe side and used far less than the 2-1/4 tsp. of zest directed for a half head of broccoli! Had to leave out the red pepper flakes in consideration of Hubs' sensitive innards, but I'm not so sure I would have cared for it here anyway. I sprinkled the zest over the broccoli at the end, along with the orange juice. It just wasn't a flavor combination that appealed to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I really wanted to like this as it is an easy and quick way to give a twist to regular ol' broccoli. But my family did not care for it. It had a bitter taste (maybe from cooking the orange zest?) and was too spicy (we are "mild heat" type of folks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySJ
Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Loved it! No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Easy, yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Everyone loved it!!!! I didnt put red pepper flakes instead I used garlic-infused olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
i put this together a little differently, but it was still a nice dish. i steamed the broccoli and added the heated oil mixture after. nice change from the usual. i will make again, thanks Mrs. Fugrim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Delicious! NEVER would have thought of orange with broccoli. But then I came across this recipe and figured I give it a go! So glad I did! The orange flavor is not at all overpowering like I thought it would have been. Perfect balance with the heat from the red pepper flakes! Nice recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is our favorite cooked vegetable. I made the recipe as written and it was wonderful. We liked the zip of the red pepper flakes and the bite of orange zest and juice. Great way to cook fresh broccoli. Thanks Mrs.Fugrim for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States