Bright and Zesty Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Interesting but not our favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Needs a little water to help the broccoli cook through, but all in all, quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
The orange zest and juice gives the dish a unique taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Great way to do broccoli! My 17 mo baby even liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I didn't add orange zest because I didn't have any. I just steamed the broccoli and then added (without measuring) the orange juice, olive oil, pepper flakes and salt. I'm not a big broccoli person so I wouldn't give it a five, but I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
overly spicy and combination of orange and spices didn't combine well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Extremely easy preparation and not bad flavor initially, but it had a strong bitter aftertaste; I may have gotten a little pith with the zest, or it wasn't a good idea to heat the zest and red pepper longer than the broccoli, or the orange I used wasn't very good, or some combination of all of that. Either way, nobody wanted to finish it. I'll try it again another time and update this review if I have better results. The same cooking method with just 1 teaspoon olive oil, 1/4 tsp each salt and granulated garlic, and 1/8 teaspoon black pepper (I also add a few tablespoons of water to the hot pan to help steam the broccoli) is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I did this recipe with tangerine instead of orange and it had a light and bright flavor. The red pepper flakes counterbalance the sweetness of the tangerine nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Surprisingly delicious! Made it exactly as written. I thought that amount of red pepper flakes might made it too spicy for me, but not so. Definately a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very nice change from regular 'ol broccoli! I wasn't sure about the flavor combinaton, but the orange did add a nice citrus flavor that did "brighten" it up a bit. To simply things, I used a steam in bag of broccoli and added the rest of the ingredients, tossing to coat. Overall, different but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States