Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
This recipe would better be called "glob!" The taste was good, but think more along the lines of the consistency of peanut butter. I had to drop spoonfuls in coconut or powdered sugar and roll them around in that to make it where they could even be handled. When I put them on a platter they flattened into patties, even though I followed the recipe to a T! They taste was fine, but I wouldnt take them to any type of gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Delicious and Fast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
The recipe is simple, is fast, and has a good taste...but needs more details. You do not know when to stop cooking it. I cooked it until it seemed to be as thick as I could get it without burning, and it still came out gooey. I could not form it into balls. I had to spoon it onto buttered wax paper. It never set like a bon-bon. On a pleasent note, the taste was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
This recipe was okay. It was very quick and easy, but I didn't like it because it had a lot of condensed milk in it and it was very evident that it did. Do not make this if you don't like condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
This was o.k., the consistency was a little mushy. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
This did not turn out. Did just as directed on recipe, the batter did not form balls. i dropped some in a bowl of sprinkles, and put it on wax paper covered plate. It flattened and all formed into one big huge plate of brigadero! tasted good, but too much of a mess. probably will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
This stuff tastes really good, but I couldn't get it to form balls. I spread mine over sugar cookies and topped with various things like coconut, nuts, and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I am from Brazil, but I am currently living in the US. I can give some tips about making a brigadeiro: 1. Condensed milk in the US is a litlle different from the Brazilian version. It is not so sweet as the Brazilian, therefore I would recommend using a chocolate powder like Nesquick. 2. Cook the mixture until it thickens enough to show the pan bottom during stirring. 3. Pour the mixture in a lightly greased dish and let it cool to room temperature. 4. Now you are ready to form the little balls, remember to grease your hands with margarine first! 5. Roll it over sprinkles 6. Place the balls in candy cups (small size)and voilla! Enjoy it! In Brazil every child's birthday includes this wonderful specialty. Children adore brigadeiro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1361 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
This was so simple..just had a question..when trying to roll them into balls i had quite a sticky time with it...mine looked more like fudge drops than balls.....can u help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
I had a lot of the same problems that everyone else had. I cooked it until I thought it was thick enough then let it cool for a long time -- and it still was extremely sticky and gooey. I ended up pretty much plopping globs of it onto a piece of wax paper on a plate then sticking it in the refrigerator. After a while I pulled it out and rolled each glob into a ball as best I could. I've got it in the refrigerator now in a container. It's okay but not great. I doubt I'd make it again despite it's ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States