Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Mmmmm. These were yummy. It just mostly taste like condensed milk, but I like condensed milk so I have no problems with it. I made enough for 8 balls, 2 were just chocolate - no coating, 2 with chocolate sprinkles, 2 with powdered sugar, and 2 with crushed peanuts. Both my boyfriend and I liked the peanuts the best. We both agreed that even though it looks pretty, the powdered sugar and chocolate sprinkles basically taste like the uncoated one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie
Photo by sdbooker
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
WOW yummy! So creamy, I made 28. I had so much fun decorating these brigadeiros. I used tiny marshmellows around one and it looked like a flower....HA! ( see picture) I also rolled them in strawberry nesquik, power sugar mixed with cinnamon, nuts, crunched Oreo cookies and carved a small hole in several strawberrys and filled it with recipe and add sprinkles and nuts on top...now those were good! Easy, fun, will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdbooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is a quick & easy little treat - and fun for kids to help with. I needed to use up some sweetened condensed milk from a dinner dish earlier today and this was perfect! Even my husband, who doesn't like sweets, liked the brigadeiro! I used food server's plastic gloves instead of greasing my hands and rolled the balls in chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Yum! This is great. I found this recipe by accident while trying to figure out how to use up a can of sweetened condensed milk. I'm glad I did. The balls are gooey with the consistency of an old fashioned caramel. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erhard, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
It tasted great but it wouldn't roll in to a ball we ended up eating out of the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Other reviewers were extremely helpful and I was able to get the consistency just right. The brigadeiro set up just like they should, so if you do make them, follow the recommendations of others.... BUT, I did not care for the flavor at all. Even my children and husband didn't like them. I think you have to REALLY love the flavor of condensed milk to enjoy these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
The recipe is almost authentic, it's missing the crucial final step: the sprinkles. The original brigadeiro from Brazil is always rolled in chocolate sprinkles. A very good tip to make rolling easier: spread a little bit of butter/margarine on your hands, it will avoid the annoyance of having the dough stick to your fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This did not work out for me......sorry....will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Very yummy. This is the first time making these little balls of heaven:) I only had powered sugar and colored sprinkles on hand, but I have big plans for these little treats. I plan on rolling in cashews, oreos, and sea salt...not all at once:) I did use on packet of hot chocolate rather then cocoa. I am a little bummed to hear that if they are not kept cool, they will "melt" Doubtful that I will have to worry about that this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These were delicious - followed some other suggestions and used Nesquik and mixed with the cocoa. The only issue I had is that they are extremely sticky to roll even when cold. Any suggestions on that would be helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States