Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was super easy and super delicious! I rolled half of mine in nuts and the other half in chocolate sprinkles. You definitely know when these are done - the mixture firms up pretty quick in the pan. The only thing I'd say is to skip the step of buttering your hands - that made my balls to slick and nothing would stick to the outside of them. The mixture is slightly sticky, but not enough so it sticks to anything, other than some toppings! Delicious! I'd give it 10 stars! I plan on making these again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Easy. Simple. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canal Winchester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Fast to make and very good to satisfy my chocolate cravings!! Very adaptable on how you cover them. I used shredded coconut on some, powdered sugar..., toffee bits, some with nuts just what ever i had in the cabinet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Mmmm Delicioso! Brought these to my church's adult Christmas party potluck. HUGE hit! I was asked for the recipe by several, and someone brought home the 10 that were leftover. Following other reviewers, I cooked my chocolate (1/3 cocoa, 2/3 NesQuik) til it pulled away from the sides of the pan, and when I lifted the spoon, it stayed clumped rather than runny, about 15 minutes - constantly stirring. Poured into greased brownie pan, stuck in freezer for 30 min, used a melon baller to grab the candy and roll in my hands. They were little balls, about the size of a nickel if it was rounded, since I needed so many. I should have doubled the recipe, stuck about 3 in little candy cups. I decorated by rolling in red and green crystal sugar, and multicolored sprinkles - one of each in the cups would have been cute...As it was, I just arranged randomly in white tupperware to show off the colors. Very sweet candy, delicious, very easy; the kids want me to make more to bring to their Nana's for our Christmas dinner. They were disappointed that there was nothing left to bring home for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KETHRAE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I love this stuff and I've made this recipe several times. I really don't know why so many people are having trouble rolling these, and I can only assume it's an issue of not cooking it long enough. You have to get a feel for it, but I cook it about 15 minutes. I chill it for at least a few hours before I try to work with it, at which point it's much like a clay. When you roll it in your hands, it heats up the surface, making it sticky enough for the toppings. They're like sweetened condensed milk tootsie rolls, and they're absolutely fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I tried them rolled in powdered sugar, coca powder and chopped pecans. The pecan ones were the favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
These were very yummy but way too similar to Dulce de Leche. Brazilian brigadeiros have a different twist. They were great though, and the only difficulty I had had to do with the fact that I didn't cook the mix enough and had a hard time putting it into balls. I baked it over again and let it cool in the fridge for a while and it worked out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbfelix90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I followed other reviews and these turned out perfect for my son's class. They were studying Brazil and we were looking for a recipes to bring into class. My 12 year old did these by himself with little help from mom. We rolled in the traditional chocolate sprinkles, confectioners sugar, and coconut. Big hit with the family and the class!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEARSENEAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Howe, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I've made this recipe three times now. I've used some of the following comments to help out with knowing when the little balls of chocolaty goodness are done and I think the most helpful hint of them all is to tip the pan over while your cooking and if the "dough" seems to pull away from the sides and try to keep itself in a blob than rather be drippy, than you know it'd ready. Also, I wouldn't suggest putting it in the fridge to cool the dough, that's what you do after you roll the balls up, if you do it for too long too early you will be sorrrrrrrry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
very nice....just what i wanted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby_Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States