Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
To me, these were just "ok." Sort of like Tootsie Rolls, sort of like cooled but firm hot fudge, but different somehow. I'm not the best judge because my sweet tooth isn't super-crazy. We rolled them in coconut, crushed pecans, or crushed white chips, because it's what we had. Made for a project on Brazil my daughter had to do for her (sophomore) Global Issues class. She said she and her classmates loved them. Of course, give a little chocolate to a bunch of teenagers and most of them will say "mmm. yum!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StyreneOxide
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StyreneOxide
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Awesome recipie! Loved it!! Immedietly after rolling them i rolled them all in different things such as: coconut, scor bits, grahm cracker crumbs, finely chopped nuts, hot chocolate powder, and mocha coffee powder mix. This made them look really fancy, and tasted even better. *When rolling into balls, use a very thin layer of butter or margerine to grease hands. Also, i found the review by BLANDINA extremely helpful and made it way easier and better, minus the part about them needing sweeter cocoa powder. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
It is very simple. The secret here is let it cook until starts boiling and the bottom is coming off from the pan. Do not let boil too much or it will become too sticky (I like but most people don't). Another is to switch the cocoa/nesquick for Carnation Hot Chocolate powder. It gets delicious this way. When the dough is cool, you can make small balls (put a bit of butter in our hands to make it easy) and cover in anything you want: sugar/crushed walnuts/sprinkles/dark chocolate powder. It will look like a truffle and will be a hit in any party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fernanda Fatio

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is an awesome dish. I have a brazilian heretage and me and my father used to make this all the time. I will warn of one thing though, this IS a type of candy. And like all types of candy, there's an art to it. Don't give up if you fail once, I know I did a BUNCH when I was learning to make it again recently. If your result was too tough to handle, you will need to remember to take it off the heat sooner, and if it's too soft, leave it in the heat longer. It dosn't HAVE to be perfect though, because once I made a batch that was WAY too soft and I just ate it out of a bowl. Also, remember the traditional Brigadeiros are coated heavily with chocolate jimmys. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was very tasty. but I did have problems rolling. I set in the fridge overnight and they were very hard. Left them out for a while on counter and they were softer but extremely sticky almost like caramel. But very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This didn't over that well with family and friends. It is chewy like a caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Took one bite, the rest went in the bin. No good. The consistency turned out just fine, the flavor was bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magdalayna's mom
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I heard about this recipe from 2 Brazilian men I know. They suggested doing something to make it sweeter so I used tips from other reviewers and used the 1 tbs butter, 1 14 oz can of sweetened condensed cream, and 3 tbs nesquick. It was delicious! I waited until it was super thick to start. I also sprayed my hands with the cooking spray to keep the stickiness to a minimum. I covered with all types of sprinkles, powdered sugar, and nesquick. I included a picture! It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States