Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
These weren't good at all. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out gooey, sticky, and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I've been making these at Holiday time every year since a friend came back from a year in Brazil in high school - many years ago. Everyone who tastes them asks for the recipe! I've found that it's kind of an art to get the timing right. I also found that a doubled recipe cooks better for me. Also, I get anywhere from 40-60 balls per can. My tips for making these are: 1. I use a combo of Nesquik and cocoa powder (proportionally about 2/3 to 1/3 Quik to cocoa for good, dark flavor). 2. The original recipe I was given called for 1/2 to 3/4 cup of Nesquik to 1 can condensed milk, but I've changed that to make it darker and richer: I use about 1/2 cup Quik and 1/4 cup or slightly less of cocoa for each can. 3. I start on medium heat (gas), and lower it to med/low. You can raise it a bit again near the end. I found the longer cooking time makes it more caramelly, and allows the chocolate to hold its shape better. Cook anywhere from 15-25 minutes for a double recipe. 4. In addition to watching for the chocolate to pull away from the pan when the pan is tilted, I also do the following to evaluate done-ness: a. put a little plate or bowl in the freezer and take out when cooking. Drop a blob of chocolate on the plate when near done. The chocolate should quickly solidify and stay solid - not run. b. To evaluate chocolate readiness, start lifting up a spoonful of it and letting it drop back into the pot. The blob should hold its shape fairly well (stay visible) and not immediately a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
397 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I made this for "International Day" at my daughters grade school. I used Nesquick and then rolled one batch in sprinkles, one batch in nesquick and one batch in chocolate/french vanilla hot cocoa mix. My least favorite was the ones rolled in sprinkles. Overall, very easy, did not take too long to roll up as my 6yr old rolled in toppings after I rolled from pan. Will definitely make again. Was afraid to use low or non-fat milk or margarine though as didn't know if they'd turn out as well. Has anyone else tried that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! One of the easiest and most delicious recipes I've gotten from this site. I stirred the mixture constantly, and it turned out so well. For the cocoa, I used Ghiradelli chocolate powder (chocolate and sugar) to enhance the sweetness a bit, per the advice of my friend who is Brazillian. I then put the cooked mixture in a glass bowl to stop the cooking process, and place in the fridge to chill a bit. I then rolled into small balls and rolled in chocolate sprinkles. These look like they were difficult to make, but were actually very simple. Thank you for a truly outstanding recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This makes sweet, caramel-y chocolatey good stuff! I confess it did not ever get poured out of the pan. I kept picking off little pieces of it, burning my fingers in the process. I finally just put the pan in the fridge and finished it off straight from there. I do think sweetened condensed milk is plenty sweet though, so I wouldn't want to use Nesquik. I promised myself not to ever make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Mine is cooling off at the moment, and from the little nibbles I've had, it's very good. I was worried about the forming stage, but seeing as it's already plenty thick, I think I'll be fine. I'm not too sure as to why, but mine was ready in seven minutes on medium heat. Maybe it's the non-fat condensed milk? Anyways, can't wait to taste the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I thought these were yummy as written. I did roll them in assorted topping. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
FANTASTIC but TIME CONSUMING. Since good things come to those who wait, go the extra mile and consider really jazzing it up. Melt dark or milk chocolate (barks work well b/c they harden better), dip the balls into the chocolate and completely submerge them, then cool and harden on wax or parchment paper. Melt white chocolate and with a fork 'spatter' the white chocolate on top and you have a gourmet looking candy that is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe, a bit hit with my family. I rolled half in coconut and the other half in cocoa powder. Easy, easy, easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
INSANELY good. I used Nesquick and cooked it right at ten minutes. Then, I let the mixture cool in a greased pan until it was room temperature. I rolled it into balls with no problem! Then I proceeded to eat almost all of them by myself. There should be a warning with this recipe that states, "Product is easily eaten and highly addictive." But you only live once, so eat these and ENJOY! I feel like I missed out for my whole life by not being Brazilian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craigandsherry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States