Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I made these for a quick sweet fix (and I had all the ingredients on hand). It took longer to cool these into a workable state than I expected - had to put it in the fridge for a while. The texture was like tootsie rolls, which is fine, but I was expecting something more like truffles. I used non-fat condensed milk, and it was plenty sweet. I used Hershey's cocoa powder and ended up with many cocoa lumps - will have to sift it in next time. Thank you previous reviewers for your excellent tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I would give 4,5 stars. I had no problems with it. I stired it approximately 15 minutes. Then I refrigerated it one hour. The flavor was pleasant and rich. I decorated it with coconut flakes and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
The messiest thing I've ever made, but I started to get the hang of it by the end so I'm sure I'll try it again. Tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
i was expecting something firmer. the candy was moldable, but it was way too soft. it's so soft you don't even need to bite it, or even use your teeth to eat it. it tastes good, especially if you can get past the soft texture. but then again, i can only eat one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Yes, I'm also Brazilian living in the US and 10 minutes is not even close to how long you must cook this w/ the condensed milk available here. It's more like 30-40 mins. You have to keep stirring or it will burn. The pot w/ the condensed milk can go directly onto the stovetop but it has to be a very low flame. My mom and I made this many times but it does take a bit of time. It is however DELICIOUS! Best to make it w/ a friend so you can divide up the task of stirring. Oh and the last tip - you really can't be sure it's cooked enough until it's cooled a bit because that's when you really can tell how much it's thickened. If it's too hot to handle or too sticky to handle even on your buttered hands then it needs to cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
You cannot beat these for a simple, yet amazing looking, THREE INGREDIENT (which are staples, at that) treat! First, MANY MANY thanks to the top 2 reviewers who's tips made making these a breeze. I followed the following tips from them: A: KEEP STIRRING!!! B: You'll know when it's done. For real. 2 things will happen: it will thicken and start to "pull away" from the sides of the pan AND when you stir it will open a valley to the bottom of the pan. Keep stirring for 2 minutes after this happens. C: pour into a bowl sprayed w/PAM (cooking spray) D: Spray your hands w/PAM before trying to roll (I don't know how you'd begin to it otherwise) The "toppings" I used for rolling: sprinkles, colored sugar, almonds, coconut, crushed Nilla wafers. Toppings I plan to use in future batches: crushed pretzels, cocoa, 10X sugar [confectioners' sugar], crushed Oreos. This made 18 (-the one i ate) about 2/3 the size of a golf ball for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I followed the advice of other reviewers and used Nesquick,and also added an extra little scoop of cocoa for richness.It definitely took the full ten minutes to get it to a nice thick consistency,then I poured it onto lightly greased plate to make it easier to grab.Make sure you don't forget to grease your fingers,or you will just have a sticky mess.These rolled easily,and I coated them in both the chocolate sprinkles and coconut.I thought they were great,but I didn't really know what they were supposed to taste like.The true test was my brazilian fiance,who thought they were fantastic.His only complaint was they were gone too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
My family has been making "Brigadeiro" forever! Always a hit at birthday parties. The trick is to use Nestle Quick powder. It melts smoothly and adds the perfect amount of sweetness (a bit like a tootsie roll). Also, when you take out of the pan, cool on a glass plate and just pull and form into balls from there. I roll them into a ball, then in chocolate sprinkles and place into miniture wrappers (like tiny cupcake/muffin liners) then guests can pick one up and pop into their mouths!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I was sooo excited about making this, because of the simplicity and the ingredients in it. Unfortunately, it did not turn out that great for me. It cooked in less than four minutes, and the texture was very grainy. Maybe I should have sifted the cocoa b4 adding? After it had cooled however, it was sooo easy to roll, and really fun to make. I just had to spray my hand with a bit of oil, and used a melon baller to get them out of the pan. The taste was okay, but maybe I'll cut down on the cocoa next time, and sift!! The family didn't like them much at all. I might make them again however, just for me and the kids, using nesquick maybe? I love the idea of them, they just didnt turn out great for me. I will try differently and see if they turn out better next time.Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I have to agree with some of the other posts that these kindof taste like tootsie rolls, but I loved them. I dipped them in powdered sugar. They were a family hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States