Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
amazing! very chocolate-y. though they are hard to roll, its worth it in the end! =) greasing your hands with butter or pam frequently is essential. when i first made these i used the info from a review on page 5, the user name is BLANDINA. very very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Decided to make these for my Brazilian hubby. They had bit of a learning curve to make but they were more than edible. The instructions are not clear so make sure you read the other reviews to help with the steps. I used Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa and rolled them in the cocoa at the end. So good. Can not wait to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
YUMMY!! I had a craving for sweets and there wasn't much in the house, so my five-year-old and I decided on these. I used 3 TBS chocolate Ovaltine, around 1½ TBS cocoa powder, and the butter and sweetened condensed milk. It took around 13 minutes to thicken up, then I let it cool in the pot for 30 minutes and then poured it onto a buttered plate. It went into the fridge for around an hour, then I rolled them into 20 balls and coated them in granulated sugar. They were very similar to a Tootsie Roll and had a caramel-like texture. Thanks for sharing, Romina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I made these for a quick sweet fix (and I had all the ingredients on hand). It took longer to cool these into a workable state than I expected - had to put it in the fridge for a while. The texture was like tootsie rolls, which is fine, but I was expecting something more like truffles. I used non-fat condensed milk, and it was plenty sweet. I used Hershey's cocoa powder and ended up with many cocoa lumps - will have to sift it in next time. Thank you previous reviewers for your excellent tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I would give 4,5 stars. I had no problems with it. I stired it approximately 15 minutes. Then I refrigerated it one hour. The flavor was pleasant and rich. I decorated it with coconut flakes and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
The messiest thing I've ever made, but I started to get the hang of it by the end so I'm sure I'll try it again. Tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
i was expecting something firmer. the candy was moldable, but it was way too soft. it's so soft you don't even need to bite it, or even use your teeth to eat it. it tastes good, especially if you can get past the soft texture. but then again, i can only eat one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Yes, I'm also Brazilian living in the US and 10 minutes is not even close to how long you must cook this w/ the condensed milk available here. It's more like 30-40 mins. You have to keep stirring or it will burn. The pot w/ the condensed milk can go directly onto the stovetop but it has to be a very low flame. My mom and I made this many times but it does take a bit of time. It is however DELICIOUS! Best to make it w/ a friend so you can divide up the task of stirring. Oh and the last tip - you really can't be sure it's cooked enough until it's cooled a bit because that's when you really can tell how much it's thickened. If it's too hot to handle or too sticky to handle even on your buttered hands then it needs to cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
You cannot beat these for a simple, yet amazing looking, THREE INGREDIENT (which are staples, at that) treat! First, MANY MANY thanks to the top 2 reviewers who's tips made making these a breeze. I followed the following tips from them: A: KEEP STIRRING!!! B: You'll know when it's done. For real. 2 things will happen: it will thicken and start to "pull away" from the sides of the pan AND when you stir it will open a valley to the bottom of the pan. Keep stirring for 2 minutes after this happens. C: pour into a bowl sprayed w/PAM (cooking spray) D: Spray your hands w/PAM before trying to roll (I don't know how you'd begin to it otherwise) The "toppings" I used for rolling: sprinkles, colored sugar, almonds, coconut, crushed Nilla wafers. Toppings I plan to use in future batches: crushed pretzels, cocoa, 10X sugar [confectioners' sugar], crushed Oreos. This made 18 (-the one i ate) about 2/3 the size of a golf ball for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I followed the advice of other reviewers and used Nesquick,and also added an extra little scoop of cocoa for richness.It definitely took the full ten minutes to get it to a nice thick consistency,then I poured it onto lightly greased plate to make it easier to grab.Make sure you don't forget to grease your fingers,or you will just have a sticky mess.These rolled easily,and I coated them in both the chocolate sprinkles and coconut.I thought they were great,but I didn't really know what they were supposed to taste like.The true test was my brazilian fiance,who thought they were fantastic.His only complaint was they were gone too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States