Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is my second time making these and they always turn out the way I remembered however it only gets 4 stars because its so messy to make. I fuond that letting it sit on the heat longer (12 mins) and letting it cool for about 30 mins gets it to the right consistency, however there was so much chocolate stuck to the pan this time. I think next time I'll scoop it out and put it in a glass bowl before letting it cool and hopefully that will eliminate the waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Ah, even Luiz Fernando loved this one! My family, those little sweeties, prefer adding Quick rather than unsweetened cocoa. I do find that it takes more than 10 minutes of cooking to get the proper consistency, but Luiz assures me that his other mom, back in Brazil, actually pours a more liquid product into small cups and serves them with spoons at their family gatherings. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Easy as can be. I love rolling them in ground coffee. TO DIE FOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I just made these a few hours ago and they're currently in my fridge. It's my first time having Brigadeiro, so I suppose I can't say if they came out right or not, but I can say that they taste great! I followed the recipe here exactly, other than adding chocolate sprinkles and powdered sugar. The only issue I had was that the cocoa was a bit too lumpy; I found myself picking lumps out of it before I rolled it into balls. I'd suggest sifting the cocoa in to avoid lumps. All in all? Great recipe. I plan on making a couple batches for Thanksgiving and Christmas parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I was disappointed. It's probably a very good version of the 'brigadeiro', but after reading reviews I was thinking I was going to end up with a type of chocolate. To me it was more like an adorned Kraft caramel. Great if that is what you're expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Lariviere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
amazing! very chocolate-y. though they are hard to roll, its worth it in the end! =) greasing your hands with butter or pam frequently is essential. when i first made these i used the info from a review on page 5, the user name is BLANDINA. very very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Decided to make these for my Brazilian hubby. They had bit of a learning curve to make but they were more than edible. The instructions are not clear so make sure you read the other reviews to help with the steps. I used Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa and rolled them in the cocoa at the end. So good. Can not wait to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
YUMMY!! I had a craving for sweets and there wasn't much in the house, so my five-year-old and I decided on these. I used 3 TBS chocolate Ovaltine, around 1½ TBS cocoa powder, and the butter and sweetened condensed milk. It took around 13 minutes to thicken up, then I let it cool in the pot for 30 minutes and then poured it onto a buttered plate. It went into the fridge for around an hour, then I rolled them into 20 balls and coated them in granulated sugar. They were very similar to a Tootsie Roll and had a caramel-like texture. Thanks for sharing, Romina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I made these for a quick sweet fix (and I had all the ingredients on hand). It took longer to cool these into a workable state than I expected - had to put it in the fridge for a while. The texture was like tootsie rolls, which is fine, but I was expecting something more like truffles. I used non-fat condensed milk, and it was plenty sweet. I used Hershey's cocoa powder and ended up with many cocoa lumps - will have to sift it in next time. Thank you previous reviewers for your excellent tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I would give 4,5 stars. I had no problems with it. I stired it approximately 15 minutes. Then I refrigerated it one hour. The flavor was pleasant and rich. I decorated it with coconut flakes and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 121-130 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States