Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I'm only giving this four stars for the cooking method...I find that cooking it on low for 30 minutes (stirring constantly!) gives it an even, smooth texture and taste. But cooking it for 12-15 on medium heat is okay too. It's condensed milk--you can't go wrong with condensed milk! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ainadaliel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KarinaB
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I made these using Nesquick, left the mix in the fridge for about 20 minutes, then sprayed Pam on my hands and on a spoon to help with the rolling process. They came out great, and were a huge hit at a dinner party. Tasted like they did when I was a kid in Brazil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarinaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I had a major chocolate craving and I was out of chocolate chips and sugar! I used an ancient can of sweetened condensed milk and this solved my chocolate craving! I burn everything or I get the sticky fudge problem, but I stirred constanstly on low heat for ten minutes, plus two minutes more as one reviewer suggested. Then I let the mixture cool in frig for ten minutes. Mixing into balls was easy. I rolled my in walnuts. I gave this 5 stars cause it is high in calcium, has a little protein, and is quick and Cheap to make. However, this tastes exactly like Chocolate carmel to me, but maybe that is what it is supposed to taste like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Read the reviews first! There is a lot of helpful information which, if followed, makes this very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I wanted to give it 4 stars, but my daughter insistes it get 5. It is easly to make and the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
These are pretty good. They're not GREAT, but they're definitely good. I only had a 300ml can of condensed milk, so I used that instead of a full 14 ounces. I took the suggestions of others and cooked it 2 minutes past when it came away from the pot. I also substituted one tablespoon of cocoa for one tablespoon of hot cocoa mix. After it was done cooking, I threw the pot in the fridge for an hour. The mixture was firm, but soft enough to work with. I rolled the balls in sprinkles. In my opinion, the sprinkles take away from the chocolate, so next time I will probably use a different topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Awesome! And so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The flavor was mediocre and it was WAY too sticky to work with! I even cooked it longer than directed and stirred the whole time. Don't know what happened but won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is my second time making these and they always turn out the way I remembered however it only gets 4 stars because its so messy to make. I fuond that letting it sit on the heat longer (12 mins) and letting it cool for about 30 mins gets it to the right consistency, however there was so much chocolate stuck to the pan this time. I think next time I'll scoop it out and put it in a glass bowl before letting it cool and hopefully that will eliminate the waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Ah, even Luiz Fernando loved this one! My family, those little sweeties, prefer adding Quick rather than unsweetened cocoa. I do find that it takes more than 10 minutes of cooking to get the proper consistency, but Luiz assures me that his other mom, back in Brazil, actually pours a more liquid product into small cups and serves them with spoons at their family gatherings. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States